coffee talk

Although I love working at home, sometimes I miss going back to school on Mondays and hearing about how everyone’s weekend was. Mondays were when I’d do my whole hyper TGIM thing and my students in first period would be like, “Um, are you sure you don’t drink coffee?” It felt good to reconnect with my kids and friends, even when the weekend seemed more like five minutes than two days. Transitioning from a work environment where I was surrounded by people pretty much every second to being by myself all day has been an interesting ride. One thing I’m thankful for is all of you. You read my ramblings here, and for that I am immensely appreciative. Because of you, I feel like I can sort of have my coffee talk time at work. It’s like buttah!

I’m actually writing this on Sunday night while the rest of the world is watching the Oscars. I was going to raid SP’s television to watch because I absolutely adore Steve Martin. But then I was like, What’s the point? Up in the Air won’t win. Avatar will hog all the awards. I have no desire to see Avatar. And I know I’m not the only one because a bunch of my Facebook friends commented that they didn’t want to see it, either. Sometimes I just don’t understand what all the hoo-ha is about.

Something I am excited about is that Brilliance Audio is recording all of my books! Right now they’re working on Something Like Fate with the same narrator who recorded Wintergirls. I am so psyched about this. I’m also psyched about my new author video that we’ll be filming soon. We’re trying to think of a good setting that relates to Something Like Fate. If you’ve read an ARC of the book, what sort of setting would you suggest? Since Lani is an environmental activist, I’m thinking somewhere like a greenhouse or atrium or open indoor space with lots of natural light. Please let me know if you have other ideas. I do want to stay indoors because last year we recorded outside on what was a really nice day at first, but by the end I was freezing. You can totally see me shivering in my Barnes & Noble video.

Of course the one thing I’m most looking forward to is meeting some of you next week. I’ll be participating in the NYC Teen Author Festival, which includes a ginormous YA author signing at Books of Wonder on Sunday, March 21. This complete listing of events tells you where and when you can find me, as well as all of the other authors who will be participating. See you soon, I hope!

12 thoughts on “coffee talk

  1. Will all the authors that will be there on the 19th be signing????
    I know how you feel about the Avatar thing. Everyone is like “You really need to see Avatar” and I am like “No thanks” haha
    I love reading your ramble! ❤

    • Thanks so much for reading!
      No, all of the authors on the 19th will not be signing on the 21st. If you go to my events entry, you’ll see that while a ton of authors will be signing at Books of Wonder, it’s not the same exact list as the authors who will be speaking at the symposium on the 19th.

    • No, authors will only be signing at the Books of Wonder signing on the 21st. Since you were saying that there are three authors you want to meet on the 19th and only one on the 21st, it might make more sense for you to go on the 19th. You might be able to meet the authors you want and have them sign books on the 19th, but that’s not guaranteed. On the 21st, everyone will be signing. For the events that are readings (like on the 18th), I’m sure authors will be happy to sign books afterwards.

  2. actually, hurt locker hogged all the awards! though i don’t want to see avatar either!
    anyway, i think for the video, that one possibility is to film in a park with lots of trees, or maybe by some train tracks?

    • I was totally thinking train tracks! I really wanted to go to the town in New Jersey that’s the setting for the book where all those old tracks are. Or we could go to Central Park. The thing is, I’m assuming it will be cold out. But maybe not…I’ll keep the trees in mind. Thanks 🙂

  3. Always here for a coffee talk 🙂
    Actually, I’m trying to not drink coffee because like I said on facebook before, I’m taking everything unhealthy out of my life. Going to the Gym most days, trying to eat more healthy, and nooo coffee. I learned that one from Waiting for You 🙂
    Anyway, I definitely know what you mean about Avatar. Avatar and Hurt Locker won like, everything. I so wanted everyone from Up in the Air to win too. I refuse to watch Avatar.
    Very excited about the Teen Author Fest! I’m trying to get a hotel in NJ to stay in that’s cheap but nice so I can stay there Saturday too. Any suggestions for sight seeing on Saturday? 🙂

    • I love, love, LOVE your new healthy lifestyle. So many people don’t understand that diets or random workouts don’t work. To create permanent change, you have to make daily choices that define the life you want to live. Once your new ways become routine, you’ll have a healthy lifestyle for as long as you want ❤
      There’s so much to see in NYC! If you’re into exploring, just walking around Greenwich Village with no agenda is really fun. Central Park and Hudson River Park are awesome. I usually avoid Times Square, but I’m sure it’s super exciting for visitors. Have fun!

      • Thanks! I’ll have to remember your wise words when I get discouraged!
        I’ll definitely make sure to check out Greenwich Village. I’m sure I’ll be in Central Park and Times Square at some point. My friend really wants to go to Chinatown for some reason. I love the scenic stuff though, so your ideas are perfect 🙂 Thanks for the suggestions!

comment

