shiny new contest

The shiny new paperback editions of When It Happens and Take Me There have been released! I just received my author copies, so you know what that means. It’s time for another contest so I can give away some books. Because there’s no way all of these are fitting in my place:

When It Happens and Take Me There by Susane Colasanti

I’m calling this the Shiny New Contest. Two prizes will be awarded. First prize is a copy of each new paperback edition. The runner-up will receive one copy of their choice. To enter, compose a haiku (3-5-3 or 5-7-5) that relates to a topic from any of my books. Some suggestions: soul mates, fate, living in the Now, taking a chance, loneliness, waiting, wanting. The haiku that speak to me the most will be the winners.

In case you haven’t learned about this form of poetry yet, a haiku consists of three lines. In a 3-5-3 haiku, the first line has 3 syllables, the second line has 5 syllables, and the third line has 3 syllables. As an example, here’s one I wrote (with explanations):

winter satellite (title)
sharp and bright (3 syllables)
waxing crescent moon (5 syllables)
best nightlight (3 syllables)

Shiny New Contest rules:

1. Email your haiku to me at friendly.neighbor [at] hotmail.com. Please do not post your haiku in the comments section, to protect the privacy of your entry. The two winning haiku will be posted here when the winners are announced.

2. You may enter more than one haiku.

3. Include your full name and mailing address with your entry.

4. Entries must be received by 11:11 pm on Sunday, February 28.

5. This contest is only open to US residents. However, if you live abroad and have a contact in the States who can receive the prize for you, it can be sent to their address.

I can’t wait to be dazzled by your creativity!

17 thoughts on “shiny new contest

  1. HAIKU!
    Ms. Colasanti has been a fan of haiku as long as I have known her, and I am not saying how long that is…mostly because we can’t seem to figure it out!

  2. They’re so beautiful! I’d enter if I didn’t already have your books. :]
    I’m definately going to have a contest in April/May and it will definately involve your books.
    Good luck to everyone!

  3. Holy Moly! Talk about freaking awesome contests! I’m not too good at poetry, but I’m definitely giving this a try! Those new books are so pretty πŸ™‚
    Definitely going to start writing them today!

  4. Susane!! Dont tell your Twitter followers about the contest!!!! I wont win if everyone knows! haha jk.
    On May 4th my friend and I are going to go buy Something Like Fate!!! Cant wait to read it!

comment

