intense

A certain company that rhymes with Shmetshmlix is being a stingy little beeyotch with my Ally McBeal. Which means I had to move on to the next show in my queue, Prison Break. When I was teaching, it would not be unusual for me to bust out with some Jack Bauer scenarios in the middle of class. Which is totally legit by the way. Running around yelling about securing the perimeter or sending coordinates to my PDA relates to so many Earth Science topics – entropy, molecular energy, density, equilibrium, etc. Yep. Totally legit.

So I’d be running around doing my best Jack Bauer imitation and my students would be like, “Mrs. Krasinski,” – oh wait, that was before my Office obsession, back it up. Tobey was my #1 boy back then. They’d be like, “Mrs. Maguire, you should watch Prison Break!” They kept telling me how much I’d love that show. So when I signed up for Netflix, I put it on my queue. Then I kind of forgot about it. My queue is really long.

I started watching Prison Break a few days ago and am still scraping my chin off the floor. Haven’t seen it yet? Watch the pilot and I swear you will be hooked. In that one ep (I don’t consider the following information to be any kind of spoiler because the show came on in 2005, but maybe if you haven’t seen it yet and you want to you should skip this part), the main guy does something stupid to get himself sent to jail. And then we find out his innocent brother is in the same jail. And then we find out the main guy is a structural engineer who designed the jail. And then we find out that his huge, elaborate tattoo contains the blueprints of the prison. And all of that happens in the first ep. See what I mean? In. Sanely. Good.

One thing that makes Prison BreakΒ such a rush is that Wentworth Miller’s eyes are beyond intense. He always looks like this:

Wentworth Miller

Intense much? Even when he’s just standing in line at the post office, I’m sure he looks like this. And I’m sure people let him go ahead of them.

But Wentworth isn’t the only intense boy around. The winner of the Awesome Boyfriend Award goes to mine. SP totally rocked Valentine’s Day with his intense sense of purpose. He gave me an incredible box of Godiva chocolate. He knows I have serious love for the Godiva. He could have gotten me one of their pre-made boxes with a milk/white/dark chocolate assortment, which would have been awesome. But no. He had to be even more awesome and select each individual piece that went into my box, just because he knows I like milk chocolate the best. Plus, he gave me boxes of raspberries, blackberries, blueberries, and strawberries because he knows how much I love them. I know. I’m so spoiled.

He’s a good person to travel with, too. He has the warm cookie hook-up on long flights and such. There won’t be any warm cookies on my flight to Chicago tomorrow, though. But that’s okay, because I’ll be doing a pre-pub event for Something Like Fate! Way exciting. Here’s the info:

February 16, 5:30 pm
Anderson’s Warehouse
520 N. Exchange Ct.
Aurora, IL
630.820.0044

The event is free and everyone is welcome. Word on the street is that there will be advance copies of Something Like Fate. And refreshments. I can’t guarantee Godiva, but it will still be fun times. If you’re in the Chicago area, I hope to see you there!

13 thoughts on “intense

  1. I am going to be really annoying about the whole YOU MUST COME TO BOSTON thing. Am I annoying you yet?
    Also, did Viking start sending out the Something Like Fate ARCs yet? I know Renee (from Book Girl Reviews) got hers, but I haven’t gotten mine. I don’t mean to be ANNOYING (BOSTON!) or anything. Just wondering. :]

    • Dude, you’re hilarious. I totally want to come to Boston! I am really, really hoping it’s one of the cities on my tour – I don’t even know where I’m going yet. Let’s hope that when I post all the info here, Boston is included.
      Renee actually got that ARC at a convention, but I’m told that they were supposed to be mailed out last week. If so, you should be getting yours really soon. Can’t wait to hear your thoughts πŸ˜€

      • Your boyfriend’s comment made me laugh.
        I would like his autograph. πŸ˜€
        Oh, okay! I can’t wait to read it. I seriously am overflowing with excitement. It actually semi-relates to my life (or maybe I’m just kidding myself.) Another story for another day…:]

    • Oh no, that’s horrible news! Actually, I could totally see Prison Break as only one season, ending with the breakout. I’d watch season one again, but there’s nothing like the rush of this first viewing.

    • There’s nothing like the rush of seeing it for the first time. More Ally McBeal just came through, but I’m totally cool with cheating on Prison Break for a while. The anticipation of more fresh eps is almost as good as watching them!

  2. Hopefully there are some Ohio or PA (closer to Pittsburgh preferably) plans for the tour, haha πŸ™‚ I would totally drive to Chicago if I didn’t have class today and happened to have money to drive there! Just thought I would say good luck!

  3. Hopefully there are some Ohio or PA (closer to Pittsburgh preferably) plans for the tour, haha πŸ™‚ I would totally drive to Chicago if I didn’t have class today and happened to have money to drive there! Just thought I would say good luck!

comment

