workspace

Could I be anticipating spring any more? No, I could not. February is the coldest month and it’s always the time when I feel like I’ve been activating my Warming Plan forever. Boots and knee socks every day just wear on the soul, even if my socks are fun Juno style ones. The thing is, even a negative situation has a positive side. One good thing about it being brutal out is that I have a lot of work to do, so I’m not missing outside time. I am in revision mode. And I’m enjoying quality time in my workspace.

I’m always interested to see other authors’ offices. Everyone has such different ways of working. Some offices are inspirational. Some make me want to bust in and organize everything. Some authors don’t have a whole office, more like an area where they work at home. I belong to this group. Calling my workspace a “home office” would be a stretch. I mean, I have a new desk and file cabinets and my sexy iMac. And I’m feeling so much better with my new chair. Talk about lumbar support! But everything is crammed into like four square feet. This is the main part of my workspace:

Susane Colasanti's workspace

There are lots of changes I want to make, all of which require a larger apartment. I want to be facing a window while I work. With an awesome view. Maybe even a window box for flowers. My goal is to have an actual home office that’s a separate room from the rest of my place, instead of a desk against the living room wall. More importantly, I want to stay in my neighborhood, so the new apartment will probably have to wait. The West Village has excellent energy, but crazy expensive real estate prices. There’s this whole long story about me searching for a bigger place recently that I won’t bore you with. I was waiting to get my new desk and chair and everything until I moved into my new place. But then I was like, What am I waiting for? My life is happening now! So I decided to go ahead and create a better workspace. Even though it’s not ideal, I’m so happy that I did. It’s comfortable and it works. And yes, that is a Dunder Mifflin mousepad.

Living in the Now is the key to happiness. So instead of focusing on what I don’t have, I’m working on appreciating the things that I do. Creative visualization is a continuous process. I’ve put my goals out into the Universe and I’m working toward achieving them every day. That’s the best we can do, right?

25 thoughts on “workspace

  1. Holy crap! That’s such a cute workplace! Even though it’s small, it’s so organized and pretty. It’s very cool looking because you have the white desk/organizational shelves and box, but you also have all the fun colored pens and stuff. I also love that brick wall you can kinda see on the left side. I’ve always wanted one of those cool looking apartments where at least one of the walls was brick. I don’t know why. Anyway, love the office! I’m definitely going to try and use your motivation and live in the now. I’m going to try and work on accomplishing things I want to do, no matter how much I get discouraged. Hope you have a good rest of the day πŸ™‚

    • Yay, inspiration! I really appreciate your sweet comments because now I don’t feel so bad about not having a real office. I’m like you with the brick – one wall of both my living room and bedroom is exposed brick, plus there’s some near my door. A lot of apartments in the West Village are like that. And colored writing paraphernalia rocks πŸ˜€

  2. I loved your points on living in the “now.” I could stand to remember to do so myself. I love you workspace! Especially the brightly-colored pencils with shapes and crazy hair on top. And, of course, the iMac (awesome). Thanks for sharing!

  3. Just wanted to say that I love your blog and I love your office! It’s so clean and streamlined and organized–it looks like the perfect place for bouts of creativity and writing. I want one like it! Can I add you as a friend?

  4. So fun to see your workspace!! And it’s so organized and cute! I love the white furniture… lightness works best for me, too. And all the colorful, childlike accessories! We definitely have the same style. Your workspace really feels like you… despite the fact that it has to be small. πŸ™‚
    I do think it’s amazing that not ONLY can you support yourself as a full-time author, but you can support yourself in NEW YORK CITY. In the neighborhood you’ve always dreamed of. Since I’ll be doing a big-city move this year, I totally get how it’s even *more* expensive where you live. The cost of living makes it seem like everyone in NYC is practically on another planet. I definitely need more space as well – I’m hoping for a basement and/or a third bedroom in the Chicago burbs, because I need storage space more than anything else! So I hope you are able to find what you need in the long run, and that you don’t settle before that (’cause my cousin did, with a house, and now she just wants to move again, and has made things more complicated!). LOL.

    • See, you understand the importance of location. Most people don’t get it. They don’t get why I’m renting a tiny West Village apartment instead of buying a three-bedroom house in New Jersey. But I would never, ever settle. I worked way too hard to get here and life is too important for that kind of ridiculousness. I know that I will have my dream place one of these days, and so will you! Good luck with your move. I’m excited about your upcoming extra space πŸ™‚

  5. I envy your organizational skills. Really, I do. Like you, I have a little desk in my little bedroom in my little house. I am not little, so this is difficult. I’ll stop rambling, just wanted to tell you that I LOVE YOUR OFFICE and, when I grow up, I want mine to be JUST LIKE YOURS! πŸ˜€ (I’ll make sure to send you a picture in 20 years or so, just to update you on the progress.)

comment

