german cover love

Half the fun of having my books translated into other languages has been wondering how my name or the titles will be changed. It’s fascinating to see books by authors who’ve had lots of publications in other countries. Each country seems to have its own idea of which cover designs work best. There are plenty of covers that work well somewhere else, but would never work here. Authors’ names are usually changed along with their book titles on foreign editions, so I’ve been wondering what they’d become for the German edition of Take Me There. After much speculation, this is what the cover looks like:

Take Me There by Susane Colasanti, German edition

I cannot even tell you how much I love this cover. It’s so sweet! And I want those clogs something fierce. This is an example of a cover that works in another country that would totally work here as well. I can definitely picture it in American bookstores. The flower designs are so cute! Love.

If any of you speak German, I’d love to know what the text on the cover says. Is it a translation of the title or a tag line? Even though I can’t read German at all, it’s fun to preview a few pages. I like looking at the dialogue and trying to figure out how some of our slang translates. Like “drag” (as in “what a drag”) is mist. ย Which is interesting, because then how does “mist” translate?

Also, have I mentioned that I want those clogs?

Update: I just received word on Facebook that the tag line means “A story to fall in love with.” Love that!

19 thoughts on “german cover love

  1. The German
    I took German in high school, so we will see how much I remember.
    The German on the cover is something along the lines of “A Story For Love” or “A story of Love”.
    As far as the use of the word “mist” it literally means manure, but I am assuming is used in the same kind of slang as we use in English, like “Shoot”.
    Hope that helps. Love the cover.

    • Re: The German
      Ha! Too funny about “mist.” I was wondering how they’d translate words that really don’t translate well. Thanks for the inside info on that. And you’re correct about the tag line. I just received a comment on Facebook that it means “A story to fall in love with.” Love that โค

  2. the cover is very attractive, lmao
    it’s a funny coincidence because I just finished rereading Take Me There last night!
    I checked Google translate and it told me that the tag line means “A story to fall in love”(but you know this by now) but Google translate likes to give me fragments, which is way my Italian teacher doesn’t let me use it.. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. German prepositions and verbs can be notoriously hard to translate directly:
    ‘zum’ means ‘belonging to’, ‘verlieben’ means ‘to fall in love with someone’.
    It’s not the story one is ‘falling in love with’, rather the story is ‘of’ falling in love, ie, it will ‘take you there’, teach you how.
    They did a nice job of working the meaning of the title into the ‘tag’, without having to translate it directly.

  4. I love that cover! It’s really lovely.
    What surprises me is that they didn’t translate the title. I’m a translator and I can never leave the title in the original, it must always be translated. It’s interesting to know this is not the case everywhere.

    • I totally expected the title to be translated, or probably changed to something entirely different. I’m not sure if it would even be possible to convey the meaning of Take Me There in another language. Maybe that’s why they sort of compensated with a German tag line?

comment

