adventure lives on

After much delay, I finally got around to seeing It’s Complicated. It was definitely the fun time I thought it would be. John Krasinski could not be more adorable. As a bonus, we get to see him in lady pajamas. He has some scruff happening, which I typically do not enjoy. But, you know. It’s John.

John Krasinski in It's Complicated

When Meg Cabot reviewed the movie on her blog, she said how she didn’t like the scene where Meryl Streep is replacing a water cooler bottle and Alec Baldwin doesn’t even offer to help. But I liked that she didn’t need any man help. And I like how you can always count on a film by Nancy Meyers to have at least one scene with incredible food. I guess whether you write a screenplay or a book, your voice is recognizable. Which is a good thing.

Dude, what’s the verdict on Nick Jonas and the Administration? I saw him play on Letterman and was less than impressed. Is his voice always that quiet?

My friend Eric informed me about this 100 Games Cupcake Game site. Some geniuses decorated cupcakes to reflect pretty much every old-school game you can remember. Regular readers of this blog know how much I love the old-school games. There was this Atari game called Adventure that I was absolutely obsessed with. It was so low-budge you would laugh really hard if you saw it now, but back when the Atari 2600 came out it was the the. You were a little square and you had to travel through this kingdom and everything you encountered came in these totally remedial shapes. Despite the early video game design, I was terrified about encountering dragons. They looked like this:

Adventure cupcake

The green square is you and that arrow thing is what you had to pick up to kill the dragons.  I can’t tell you how thrilled I am that someone else knows about Adventure, because every time I mention it (which would be more often than you’d think), no one knows what the eff I’m talking about. Pitfall Harry was also fun times on the old Atari. And of course Pac-Man! I ruled at Pac-Man. I was also very into this game called Simon, with its big buttons of flashing light you had to imitate.

Simon cupcake

Speaking of games, I’m still searching for a good Board Games Night to join.  I only have a few friends who like to play games.  Everyone else thinks they’re too old.  I’m like, How can you ever be too old for a Cranium game?  Or Uno?  Luckily, I will be playing Uno and Set this weekend at my fave coffeehouse.  Hope you get to play some fun games this weekend, too!

10 thoughts on “adventure lives on

  1. That cupcakes site is awesome! We bought an old-school Nintendo NES within the past year – in part because I was not allowed to have video games as a kid, and only played a few times at friend’s house, and in part because my best friend was up for some nostalgia.
    And we just played Beatles Monopoly the other evening, too, so I totally know what you mean about Board Games Night. I first learned Set on a vacation out West when it was stocked in our log cabin. There’s this other card game called Quiddler that’s kind of like Scrabble but without the spatial limits, which is fun too. And of course, Apples to Apples!

    • I am *always* up for some nostalgia. How cool is it that you know Set? You can actually play the Set daily game online. Not sure if I’ve seen Beatles Monopoly – that’s obviously one I have to look out for!

    • Oh, I have no doubt that we will throw down on Board Games Night at some point. My coffeehouse rendezvous is just with one friend, not the bunch I am hoping to gather regularly. Wish I knew where to find such people.

  2. I love playing games like that! My sister and I just bought an old Sega to play games on, like Lion King and Aladdin. I love playing Apples to Apples, Uno and Guess Who. So I agree with you. there needs to be more people that love to play them!

  3. Nick Jonas and the Administration
    Yeah, I saw him on Letterman, too, and I thought it was just okay. But I actually really like that band. Nick is really talented, albeit sometimes he does not have enough volume. Give him another chance, though, because his song “Who I Am” really does reflect some of the ideas you discuss in your novels. We all just want someone to love us for who we are :).

    • Re: Nick Jonas and the Administration
      Ooh, I will check that out on iTunes, then. I think I liked Nick’s voice – I just wanted to hear him more clearly. And I know how popular the Brothers are, so obviously there’s something to hear!

      • Re: Nick Jonas and the Administration
        You are awesome, by the way. I really appreciate how you keep in touch with your readers. You e-mailed me back after I read Waiting for You for my 18th birthday book. I don’t know if you remember that, but I definitely appreciated it :).

comment

