the scene, etc.

Have you seen the Gossip Girl Top Ten List? Every character lists their top ten whatever of 2009. I have to laugh at Chuck’s list. He put Minetta Tavern and Little Branch on his list of Top Ten NYC Bars/Clubs/Restaurants. That motherchucker would. Minetta Tavern used to be this awesome old-school Italian place here in the nabe. We’d go anytime without a reservation and it was always a blast. Then it closed down. I was sad that we’d lost another fave restaurant because so many of them have closed recently. But! It reopened and I was so happy. Until I found out that the new place was this uber exclusive joint where people like Madonna go. It’s impossible to get a decent dinner reservation now. Seriously, it’s either 5:30 or 10:00, if you’re lucky.

Okay, and Little Branch? Is this bar that’s also here in the nabe. SP showed it to me a few years ago, back when no one knew it was there. It’s on this obscure corner with a tiny sign on the door that you would totally walk right by if you didn’t know it was there. One time we were the only customers. I don’t really like bars since I don’t drink alcohol and screaming conversations over loud music isn’t really my thing. I’d much rather be playing a good board game at some coffeehouse. When I do go to bars, the bartenders are typically annoyed that I don’t drink alcohol so I just order a Shirley Temple (with extra cherries) and move on. Little Branch is entirely different. The bartenders love the challenge of me. They whip me up these tasty cucumber/mint/honey drinks with sculpted ice pieces. But the thing about Little Branch is that other people have discovered it. And now it’s such a scene. So of course Chuck would be there. At least Dan didn’t disappoint me – he listed Jonathan Tropper’s This Is Where I Leave You as the best book of 2009. Right on.

I want to thank Amanda for setting up an interview at NYU’s radio station this week. It was so much fun! The interview will air next month, so I’ll let you know when it’s on in case you want to listen. Amanda emailed me last year after reading When It Happens and told me that she wanted to go to NYU. Now she’s there, which rocks. Here we are in the studio:

NY radio

Yeah, I busted out my old NYU tee for the occasion which, ironically, I never wore while I was a grad student there.

Speaking of When It Happens (sort of), here’s a fresh review by Open Mind, Insert Book. Thanks, Stephanie!

Finally, I have to mention that Serendipity Day is this Sunday, December 20. Here’s my explanation of its significance. Let’s all celebrate in our own unique way.  Maybe I’ll partake of some edible gold leaf.  Or, um, not.

12 thoughts on “the scene, etc.

  1. Wow, someone else who doesn’t drink alcohol! It’s funny how many of my friends are this way, concidentally. I am too. Do you not like the taste or do you not like the idea (or both)? I LOVE Shirley Temples! 🙂
    I found out that one of the reasons I might really detest the taste is because I’m a supertaster, and have way more taste buds than most people, so everything tastes way stronger. But you like veggies a lot, and they’re something supertasters commonly can’t stomach, so I’m not sure if it’s the same for you.
    Yay for Serendipity Day! 🙂

    • You and your friends rock. That’s so interesting about supertasters. How did you find out you were one?
      If I drink more than a few sips of alcohol, I get these flu-like symptoms and feel really sick. Doctors have told me that this means I’m allergic. But even without the reaction, I’ve just always hated the taste. It’s so weird! And it burns! Not fun times. People tell me that beer is an acquired taste. I have no desire to acquire that at all. I’d rather acquire a delicious cupcake.

      • I thought since you were a science teacher, you’d know what I was talking about! Awesome. I found out because my sister’s Psychology class learned about it and took the drink test. She was the only one in the class who couldn’t stomach the drink! They taught her that you can sometimes tell by looking at the number of taste buds on the tongue, and I have *so* many compared to my friends! I wonder if it is genetic?

  2. Yes! I am the same way with the alcohol stuff. People are always saying, “Wow, you don’t drink? What is wrong with you? It’s soooo fun!” It’s really just not fun to me. I know what you’re saying with the board game thing too. I’d rather get a bunch of my friends and sit around and play apples to apples or something. Even though that is a card game. Glad someone out there understands my opinion! 🙂

    • We’re totally kindred spirits. I’ve never understood what’s fun about drinking, just like I’ve never wanted to do any other kind of drug. But I don’t care if other people drink – I would never go up to someone and be all like, “Ew, you drink? Why would you want to ingest toxic substances?” I wish they would treat our decision with the same respect.
      I know it’s hard to deal with peer pressure, but you are strong. Stay above the influence!

  3. You’re welcome!
    I absolutely LOVED When It Happens, and I’m very much looking forward to reading your other books! Thanks for linking to my blog! Cheers, Stephanie 🙂

comment

