searching & finding

My big news of the day is that I’ve submitted book five to my editors! This means, beginning with collapsing in a heap of exhaustion, I’ll be taking a few days off. Now I have time to do things like paint my bathroom, catch up on scrapbooking, and continue my search for the perfect Christmas cookie. Which may very well transform itself into a search for the perfect Christmas cupcake. You know I’m all about the cupcakes.

There were cookies at this holiday party last night, but they were not the Christmas kind. Not that it detracted from the fun in any way. I was invited by Daphne Grab, a wonderful YA author who is just so sweet. I was also psyched to see YA author Courtney Sheinmel. I totally have a crush on the cover of her new book, Positively. Courtney was a lawyer before becoming an author, so it was cool to talk to another author who’s made a career change. Here I am with Daphne and Courtney:

Susane Colasanti, Daphne Grab, and Courtney Sheinmel

What else did I want to tell you? Oh! It’s cool when you start watching a show because someone you like is in it, but then it turns out to be a really good show. That’s what happened with Fringe. I loved Joshua Jackson in Dawson’s Creek so much that when I heard he was in Fringe, I immediately added it to my Netflix queue. I just finished season one and was completely blown away by the last scene. That’s the one where you know it’s 2009 and it’s taking place in a New York office. But then the camera pans out and you see that the office is in one of the Twin Towers. That’s an alternate universe I wouldn’t mind living in.

Okay, it’s like two degrees out and minus whatever with the windchill, but my Warming Plan has been activated. So I will not let the freezing conditions prevent me from my Christmas cookie/cupcake search. If you find or make any good ones, please let me know!

4 thoughts on “searching & finding

comment

