looking forward

Last week kind of sucked. On Monday and Tuesday, I felt like I was coming down with a cold, but it didn’t really materialize into anything serious. Then on Wednesday it was like, Wham! What I thought was a cold revealed itself to be a nasty stomach virus. Not cool. It was disgusting. Fortunately, it was not as disgusting as that crazy food poisoning thing a bunch of us had a while back. Which was caused by E. coli from tomato plants, by the way. Judy Blume had it. She posted a photo on her blog where she was sleeping on the bathroom floor with pillows and blankets and stuff. I remember being like, Dude! That’s such a good idea!

This was not that bad. Mainly, it just made me exhausted all week. I’m not good about working when I’m sick. I probably could manage to write, but I’m sure that everything I write would sound all groggy. So I took several sick days. Luckily, my boss is flexible about such things. That’s a joke because my boss is me. Hilarious. You know Michael’s World’s Best Boss mug on The Office? I just got a World’s Best Boss mug keychain, since it works both ways.

So yeah. It’s back to work time! Plus, there are lots of things to look forward to this week. I will hopefully be making progress on this second draft. I’m visiting Manhattan Village Academy’s book club today as part of the Adopt-A-School program. Sesame Street is celebrating its 40th birthday tomorrow. I’m finally going to see Whip It this weekend, if it’s still playing. And I just heard some exciting news from my agent. Something Like Fate is Penguin’s lead book for the Summer 2010 season! That means fun times are ahead. I should have marketing details to share with you soon. In the meantime, back to making some second draft magic…

3 thoughts on “looking forward

comment

