between drafts

Over the weekend, I finished the first draft of book five. My goal was to finish this draft by the end of October. For a while there, I wasn’t sure I’d make it. But when failure is not an option, magic happens. There’s still a ton of work to do. My first drafts are never pretty. I have to do a second draft and then a third before I can submit the manuscript to my editors. Hopefully, I’m in for a fun ride.

Then there was the big Village Halloween Parade. Even though it passes by right around the corner, I hadn’t seen it in years. We had a friend visiting who wanted to see it. So we stood out in the warm night (which was awesome because having to wear a coat over your costume sucks) and watched the fabulous parade. The best costumes were some Wild Things. Every year there’s this group of weird skeletons. They are huge! I might have a short video of them to show you soon.

Our friend was visiting from Toronto. He works on the set of Degrassi! He brought me swag! They just wrapped season 9 and wait until you see what happens. There’s a major plot point that, sadly, I cannot share. However, I am allowed to tell you the following:

1. The main actors get paid a flat rate of $1,000 per day, regardless of what they do. Whether someone works for a few minutes in a short scene or they have to pull a 14-hour day, they still get paid the same. Fascinating.

2. Joey sold his hat from Degrassi Junior High on eBay and the studio got mad at him. I’m siding with Joey on this one. If the studio is going to be all possessive about their stuff, then they shouldn’t give it away. I wonder if Joey regrets selling his famous fedora.

Okay, the second draft is waiting to be written. I wonder if there’s a way to work in a Degrassi beach towel…

comment

