sensitivity

Guess who’s getting braces?

That would be me.

I probably should have gotten braces, like, 20 years ago. As a neglected teen, I usually didn’t have even the basic things I needed, much less some expensive braces. My Gram did intervene in her classic superhero ways and managed to set me up with a retainer. But the retainer hurt. It kept scraping my gums. It was anchored around my bottom wisdom teeth, which hurt all the time. And I kept throwing it out with my lunch. So now I need to fix the problem. Oh, and those bottom wisdom teeth? Need to come out.

If it wasn’t for the issue of getting my wisdom teeth pulled, I wouldn’t be so resistant about braces. They’re not the old-school metal kind that Miranda had in Sex and the City where she asked that girl, “Are your braces blue?” and the girl was all, “No, they’re sapphire.” Mine will be the invisible kind that go on the back of your teeth, so no one can even tell you have them. Plus, my dentist says they’ll only be on for less than a year. So it’s time to move forward, despite the horrific expense. Did I mention that I don’t have dental insurance anymore? I know, the fun times just keep coming!

My top wisdom teeth were pulled years ago. It was pretty bad. Mainly because I have a really sensitive system. I would love to be less sensitive, but that’s not happening. My pain threshold is so low it’s subterranean. I can’t drink caffeine without feeling sick. Even cold medicine makes me feel weird. But I have to accept who I am and make the most of my lacking attributes, of which there are many. While sensitivity sucks in the face of teeth yanking, it’s good for writing books. So I’ll focus on writing. And psyching myself up to make that appointment. Which I’ll be making any minute now…

7 thoughts on “sensitivity

  1. Well … on the bright side, maybe having braces hurts a whole lot less now than it did 20 years ago? I had mine put on 27 years ago, for a two-year stint. It wasn’t super terrible then, and if it’s bound to be a better experience now, then all the better. Sending many good thoughts!
    Buy soft foods for those first few days. No sandwiches. (They’re awfully awkward to eat at first.)

  2. Wow! I had no idea you needed braces. From what I recall, your smile looks great. But I’m really glad to hear from someone else that’s going through this, because once I graduate and have a full time job, I’m going to be doing the same thing. My teeth are bad in so MANY ways, and I’m one of the only people I know that’s an adult who doesn’t have straight teeth.
    Are you getting Invisaline or is this something different? If and when I do it, it can’t be something obnoxious that shows. Is it typically around the same price as Invisaline or braces? (I’ve heard that Invisaline is about $5000 and that this matches what regular braces would cost. Of course, doing it in NYC may make the scale way off. LOL!) I doubt I’ll have dental insurance either – my profession usually offers good health insurance but not dental. It’s great that you won’t have to have them on for more than a year!
    Wisdom teeth I can speak to. I’m really sensitive as well – my skin, teeth, and ears have always been sensitive to everything. I had a dentist phobia for years, but went back in college when I had to get all my wisdom teeth pulled. When I returned, I went to a sedation dentist, however, and this totally helped me get over my fear. I was given an additional pill to make the pain less. It didn’t put me out, but it made me quite groggy and relaxed. Someone took me to the dentist and took me home again, and it honestly wasn’t painful to the point that I would complain. I was totally pleasantly surprised. After I went to the sedation dentist for that, I was able to go to the regular dentist and not freak out. I think my pain tolerance has gotten slightly better as an adult, too.
    Totally off topic but I just watched the “Subtle Sexuality” webisode! It doesn’t give anything away – do you watch those when they come out?

    • I love that you can relate to much of what I’m going through! Yes, I’m getting Invisalign and it will be about $5000, although last year I was quoted $7000 and promptly ignored that nonsense. Not like $5000 is much better. My teeth are pretty straight, but I have an overbite and the wisdom teeth have crowded my mouth so my teeth need to be aligned properly. All stuff that should have been fixed when I was a teen.
      Are you taking about The Office webisodes? I’ve watched some on DVD. Since they don’t contain spoilers, I should start watching them as they come out. I’m following The Office on Twitter and they always announce new ones.

      • Just wanted to make sure there wasn’t some other “invisible” braces option out there – good to know it’s Invisalign! You’ll have to let us know how you like it (as much as you can “like” any form of braces!).
        Yes, The Office webisodes! You can probably watch them as they come out. I don’t remember any spoilers in past ones, and there definitely aren’t any in “Subtle Sexuality”. They actually sing their own parts!

comment

