seriously?

I’m grieving the loss of someone who isn’t real.

I realize that T.R. Knight leaving Grey’s Anatomy is old news. And I knew he left the show before I finished watching last season because I live in the world. But knowing something and having it hit you full-force are two completely different things. Last week as I was watching last season, I kept wondering why there wasn’t enough George. The boy did not have one plotline. Not one! What kind of way is that to treat the best part of the show? Grey’s Anatomy without George is like a s’more without the toasty marshmallow.

Meredith Grey and George O'Malley

After I watched the last ep (which totally brought back that classic season two magic), I did some Googling. There was T.R. saying how he left because he was reduced to this random character with hardly any scenes. That was just a raw deal. It was a mistake to fade him into the background and I think the show will suffer that loss. Those of us who love George will require much recovery time. Plus a whole lot more of that season two magic.

George O’Malley, you live on in our hearts.

3 thoughts on “seriously?

  1. Aww yes, I totally agree with you. I read how Shonda put less George in the show so the viewers wouldn’t notice him missing in the last episode of last season… but I don’t think she told T.R. that, so he was put in this horrible position where he didn’t get any scenes and he had no clue why. And less George on the show was so lame. Aww it still makes me sad. :/

    • Yeah, I saw her comment, too, but I don’t think that’s the whole story. In the last ep, George was supposed to be in surgery all day until 6:00, so everyone just assumed that’s where he was during the rest of the action. His character didn’t have to be minimized so severely for the rest of the season at all. How could George have zero going on for a whole year? Egregious, that. I will miss him forever. You and I share the sadness 😦

comment

