smiley faces

I still haven’t absorbed last Friday’s good news. How can I be on a Top Ten Bestseller list with J.K. Rowling and Neil Gaiman? They clearly have me confused with someone else.

Or maybe I’m hallucinating. That’s the kind of thing that happens when you’ve been scrutinizing copyedits for days. I’m obsessed with details, so I can agonize over a word choice for way longer than I should. Or whether a certain comma interrupts the dialogue flow. One detail I’m really happy about is that smiley faces are still part of the copyediting process, even though we’ve shifted to a new on-screen framework. Yay for the preservation of smiley faces, even if they’re not in colored pencil anymore:

Something Like Fate copyedits

Other happy things include this Running for Fiction review of Waiting for You. I recently posted links to Robby’s reviews of When It Happens and Take Me There. The most I can hope for is that my readers will relate to my books and maybe even feel better about their own lives. All of your kind words mean so much to me, I cannot even tell you. I feel extremely thankful for feedback like Robby’s. Most of the time it’s hard for authors to know how their books are doing out in the world. To everyone who has let me know how I’m doing: You rock. And for those of you who might want to connect with me, here’s where you can find me on Facebook, MySpace, or Twitter.

Dude, the loudest storm just moved in. We had such a downpour yesterday, all resonant thunder and powerful wind. The storm was so intense that my screens are totally cleaned now. Bonus! I like working while it’s pouring out, the sound of the summer rain, my warm desk lamp glowing. Back to the Something Like Fate copyedits. Maybe more smiley faces are waiting to be found.

4 thoughts on “smiley faces

  1. Hi Susane! I love your blog and your books. And to say thanks, my friend and I have this book review site and my friend did a review of Take Me There.
    Now you can ease your mind because you have one less person to worry about how they think of your book(s) 🙂 Come check it out at http://thebooksquad.wordpress.com
    love, TheBookSquad

  2. thanks for posting up a link, Susane.
    and it’s true, your writing has really affected me, and i find that even though i finished your books, i’m still thinking about them.
    i feel like i will be for a long time.

comment

