in which my neighbor was not friendly

Earlier this week, I was in one of those situations where my neighbor forgot to turn his alarm off before leaving for Europe. So every morning at 5:00 (or maybe 4:00 – I was too groggy to tell time, even on my digital clock), his alarm would go off and I got to wake up super early. Fun times! It was one of those alarms that get angrier the longer you don’t turn them off. It would start of all normal, like be-da-lee-dee…be-da-lee-dee. But then it would get all loud like EH-EH-EH. For an hour. There was no going back to sleep after that rude awakening. I think my super finally found a key, because the alarm didn’t go off this morning. Either that or I was so exhausted I slept through it.

This might not have been a problem if I was a morning person. My circadian rhythm dictates that I am a night person. Back in high school, it was always so hard for me to wake up early. I usually stayed up way too late. Every day of my teen life being the worst day ever didn’t motivate me to get up early, either. Getting up was easier when I was a teacher because I actually wanted to go to school, but it was still horrific to set my alarm for times like 4:45. No one should be awake at 4:45. That’s just wrong. So since I like staying up late, I couldn’t get myself to adjust to my neighbor’s alarm clock by going to sleep earlier. If I’m not making much sense right now, we can totally blame him.

In all of this huffufle, I wasn’t able to track down the Big Gay Ice Cream Truck. The dude is away for a few days, so I’ll have to report back to you on that next week. Good thing Crumbs is always around. It’s been a while since I’ve shared any Crumbs cupcake adventures with you, so I stopped in to see what’s new. They are getting seriously creative with cupcake names. There was the Half-Blood Prince and the Elvis. When I saw the S’mores, I knew I had to document one for you:

S'Mores cupcake at Crumbs

For now, I need to catch up on sleep. I also want to find a power strip with a plug that fits flatly against the wall. I have a new Crate & Barrel entertainment cabinet that I wanted to push back against the wall, but the plug on my power strip behind the cabinet is so massive that there’s this annoying space between the cabinet and the wall. I guess a trip to Bed & Bath is inevitable. If I wasn’t such an organization freak, I’d think this type of preoccupation was a result of sleep deprivation. But no, it’s just me. Cheers!

10 thoughts on “in which my neighbor was not friendly

  1. that cupcake looks good. But, i think I got a cavity looking at it 😦
    & i totally agree, no one should have to wake up at 4 am. I wish alarm clocks would just shut off after a minute or so, instead of repeating the annoying buzzer. My mom has a clock like that, she gets up at 6 am everyday, not fun.

  2. I have been woken up by my neighbors having a very, very loud conversation on their balcony at freaking three in the morning. Living in New York City is great sometimes.

  3. woah
    I am so sorry. it’s horrible to be awakened like that, not once, but everyday and for an hour! horrible. and especially for a writer. I find that if I do not sleep well, I can nearly forget about writing: it takes the best hours of my most awake brain. Sleepy buzz fuzz brain does not write well. Does not read well, does not speak well, does not do language well. Does not eat well, does not compute well, does not feel well. No one should wake up at 4:45am but so many people do: teachers, bakers, surgeons, fisherman, and many many others. Wrong. Too early. The brain did not evolve to get up that early. I agree. lai

  4. I have perpetually rude neighbors – they have loud conversations that come right through my bedroom wall and usually have these heated fights after 11 pm, and as a teacher, I have to be up at the ungodly hour of 5:30am. The worst part is when I have politely asked them to turn down stereos and such, the male roommate told me to get out of their life and live my own, not to come knocking on their door again. Police calls have been made, but rudeness prevails. Unfortunately I live in a condo, and cannot sell in this market, so I’m stuck with the noise. Even a white noise machine and earplugs don’t always keep their fights out of my house.
    So I totally sympathize with an hour’s worth of alarm . . . 😦

    • Ack, I am so, so sorry about your situation. I’ve had noisy neighbors in every NYC apartment I’ve had, including a crazy one like yours who kept getting angrier every time I asked her to turn her TV down. She would pound on my door in the middle of the night, threaten me through the wall, and then blast her TV so loudly they could hear it all the way down the hall. I totally feel your pain.

  5. You’ll never believe it! I was in New York this week and i remembered in your book Magnolia. I had to stop at the store while i was there for my birthday. When i got there this huge aroma filled my nose when i walked in. I sware i just wanted to grab everything!While i was there i kept thinking ‘what is Susane is actually in the store?’ I got a box filled with six cupcakes and shared them with my friends. They of course have no acknowledgementof how beautiful the cupcakes were with all the sprinkles and the cute little sugar flower they made. Oh my goodness, the cupcakes was to die for. Now that I’m back in boring ol’ Maryland I’m craving their cupcakes at 1:14 pm. If i werent for you i wouldnt be able to try the amazing food! Thank you!!

    • Love that! I’m so happy you liked the cupcakes. Next time you’re in NYC, try Crumbs (they have several locations). They use buttercream icing and their cupcakes come in many delicious flavors.

comment

