reimbursement

When I was a teacher, I had this thing about attendance. I wanted mine to be perfect. I felt really strongly about being at school every day for my kids. As someone who was abused and neglected as a teen (which is why I’ve dedicated my life to helping teens, by the way), I know what it feels like to have no one at home you can talk to or trust. So even though it was just for one class during their day, I wanted my kids to know that they had someone who would be there every day for them. I had perfect attendance for the first six years of teaching. During my seventh year, I contracted a nasty virus and had to stay home. I felt worse about being absent than I did about being sick. After I resigned from teaching, I found out that all of the sick days I never took were days I’d be paid for. This reimbursement came in a series of three checks, the last of which I just received.

I don’t like spending lots of money on things I don’t need. My Gram taught me the importance of being frugal, and that’s the way I’ve always been. Saving as much as possible was the only way I could manage to pay for college, pay off my student loans, and move to my dream neighborhood. But this doesn’t mean I don’t treat myself to something decadent now and then. There have been second-row center concert tickets. My glasses weren’t cheap. And uh…well, I can’t really think of anything else, but I’m sure I’ve splurged on some other expensive things. Like my iBook. If you’re a regular reader of this blog, you know that I am in love with Shiny Happy Apple World. Apple changed my life. There’s worship up in here. As much as I love my cute little iBook, it was time to make another dream reality. There’s something at the Apple Store I’ve been obsessing over. So last week, I brought it home.

Shiny new iMac

My iMac is making me so happy I can’t even tell you. It’s a total rush. The 20-inch screen! The resolution! Every single detail! I love learning all of the new things that this guy can do (I haven’t named him yet). Now that I’ve been working at home for two years, it was definitely time to set up a better work environment. I even bought an awesome new desk to go with. It’s not easy for me to admit that I deserve nice things. It’s easy for me to want them, but actually accepting that I could have them is a whole other issue.

I’d love to write more, but I have a date with my sexy new iMac. Ciao for now.

12 thoughts on “reimbursement

  1. Love your thoughts on this, and totally agree about the balance! What a great, symbolic way to spend the money you rightfully earned! Congrats on the iMac! 🙂

  2. Well, im totally jealous of you!
    i have a stupid PC. any chance i get i always mess around with my step dad’s mac book pro 🙂
    You know what i just remembered i used to watch My So Called Life! Just to comfirm isnt it about this bad girl, who is adopted or something? and she loves horses? It all seems a bit fuzzy
    Refresh my memory please?

    • No, Angela from My So-Called Life wasn’t adopted and she didn’t like horses. She did go through a sort of bad girl phase because she was sick of being the good girl, but not in the cheesy overdone way we usually see it.
      I love suddenly remembering I used to watch certain things I totally forgot about. I was thrilled when I remembered the Yip Yip Martians from Sesame Street!

  3. Yay!
    Dear Susane,
    Congratulaions on your beautiful new IMac and desk!! I know how exciting this is for you and how long you’ve been waiting for this. Love the photo esp. of the white desk in the background. Sea of white.
    Did your ergonomic chair arrive? I don’t see it in the photo. What color is it? Is it white, too? 😉
    So excited for your new writing space!!
    So wonderful to read about your intense dedication to teaching and your kids, which I know so well.
    Just joy joy happy happy to read this blog!
    love
    lai

    • Re: Yay!
      You are so sweet ❤
      There’s some chair scandal in progress. I can order the chair this month, but it won’t be available to own until September. The chair is that intense. So I might have to go ahead and get an inferior chair in the meantime, then upgrade in the near future. But yeah, the chair is silver and white 🙂

      • Re: Yay!
        Oh, no! we don’t want any chair scandal!!
        you need that ergonomic white and silver chair more than anyone!!
        i hope you don’t settle! white and silver, wooooo. that’s sounds hot hot hot!
        i’m sooooo sorry! and i was so psyched for your July 15 delivery. September??!!
        i’m so so sorry. well, whatever you do, if you get the inferior chair, please do upgrade to the white stallion later.
        love
        lai

comment

