june 33rd (as declared by laurie)

Anne Hathaway and I don’t have much in common. If we were walking down the street together, I’m pretty sure you’d be able to tell us apart. But for some reason, people keep saying I look like her. When I was a teacher, a lot of my students said how I looked like the Princess Diaries girl. At the time, I didn’t know who the Princess Diaries girl was. Now Anne seems to be everywhere and people are getting more aggressive about coming up to me. This guy actually followed me off the subway the other day, all like how Anne is a Scorpio and what am I? I was more disturbed that he knew she was a Scorpio than how he was following me around, until he started comparing every one of my features to hers.

In Waiting for You news, it is now being translated into German! The Turkish edition will be out soon as well. What’s particularly cool about these two translations is that I have German and Turkish friends who can actually read them. Typos check! Also, The Compulsive Reader has selected it as her book of the month, so you can head over to read her interview with me.

The Book Girl has a new Friday feature called What a Guest. I’m thrilled to be her first guest blogger! I shared some thoughts about reinventing yourself over summer vacay and taking steps to create your ideal life. I was never really successful with these things when I was a teen, but you can make it happen. The possibilities are infinite.

Dude, I just saw that the latest seasons of Flight of the Conchords, One Tree Hill, and Gossip Girl are all coming out next month. This is awesome news. I can’t wait to see what happens. August is heating up and it’s only July! Which I still haven’t absorbed, by the way. The Fourth of July seems to be tomorrow. Usually, I avoid the crowds and watch the fireworks from a rooftop. But tomorrow I’ll be walking down along the river for an excellent view by the Statue of Liberty. Fireworks are fun. I especially like the heart ones. And the smiley face ones!

Washington Mews window boxes

I’ll leave you with the best window box yet this season, brought to you by my friendly neighbor. Happy fireworks!

6 thoughts on “june 33rd (as declared by laurie)

  1. i’d probably cry if someone followed me off the subway.
    from what i see on the picture on the back flap of Waiting For You, i don’t think you look too much like Anne Hathaway.
    you do a little,
    but no enough that people should start mistaking you.
    the smile on your neighbor’s face is freaking me out.
    ~robby.
    http://runningforfiction.blogspot.com

  2. congrats!!
    Sue, when is your translation going to be in Farsi?? 🙂 That’s so great, congrats (!!) that Waiting for You is being translated into German and Turkish!!
    Will you have the same name or a Turkish or German name/spelling?
    Like Suna Canan (Turkish for: Beloved Swan)
    🙂
    I am so excited that you have gone international!! Actually, I’m even more excited for the world to have the opportunity to read your amazing books!
    Wow, being followed around seems quite scary…you do have a resemblance to Anne Hathaway but you are very distinct….
    Can it be March 33??…
    laila

comment

