high line

If I couldn’t be a science teacher or a teen book author or a closet organizer, I would probably be an urban planner. I have serious love for New York City, especially its green architecture and parks and all the ways in which it interacts with the people living here to enhance our lives. The idea of creating a Zen space out of a desolate area is fascinating. That’s why the High Line makes me so happy.

The High Line, June 2009

There’s an old elevated subway line running from the West Village into midtown. For years it just sat there. But now it’s been transformed into the High Line, a new green space with amazing views and lots of vegetation. All of the plants are indigenous, grown from preserved seeds. Trees, grasses, shrubs, and flowers were all planted around the old train tracks:

The High Line, June 2009

It’s a sweet place to relax. I love having peaceful places like this in the middle of a busy city. It’s a totally rejuvenating experience! There are lounge chairs that roll along the original rail tracks. There’s a wading pool you can walk across in the summer. A huge glass wall overlooks the street below. Benches are spread out. Every little section has its own theme going on. And all of the lighting is placed along the railing to reduce the amount of light pollution, which will rock on clear nights.

Since the High Line is elevated in an area with few obstructions, the views are incredible. You can check out the awesome surrounding architecture in a way that’s impossible from street level…

IAC Building by Frank Gehry

…or just watch sunset on the Hudson River :

High Line sunset

Yay for reclaimed materials! Here’s more info about the High Line’s design and history.

26 thoughts on “high line

  1. My brother told me about the High Line over the weekend, which is embarrassing since I live in Manhattan and he lives in California. He’s going to grad school for urban development, and we both are transportation nurdz, so when he comes to visit me in July we’re totally heading down to check out the High Line.

  2. My brother told me about the High Line over the weekend, which is embarrassing since I live in Manhattan and he lives in California. He’s going to grad school for urban development, and we both are transportation nurdz, so when he comes to visit me in July we’re totally heading down to check out the High Line.

  3. This is officially one of the coolest things ever. It’s so pretty, and the view is amazing! I really hope I can visit it this summer ❤
    – Renee (The Book Girl)

  4. This is officially one of the coolest things ever. It’s so pretty, and the view is amazing! I really hope I can visit it this summer ❤
    – Renee (The Book Girl)

comment

