in which i own summer breeze

I heard a rumor that recent Gap ads are using the most excellent Seals & Crofts song, “Summer Breeze.” I’m a bit disturbed that no one checked with me first. That’s my song! Well, that’s my summer song. Every year when spring finally turns warm, I go around singing, “Summer breeze! Makes me feel fine!” Whenever a warm breeze blows through my window, I’m all like, “Summer breeze!” Seth Cohen’s boat is the Summer Breeze. My desktop folder is titled “Summer Breeze.” I even bought the CD just for that one song. Ever since I was little, this song has been close to my heart. And now it’s a Gap ad? Fine. I’ll let them have it, given that my husband (aka John Krasinski) did a Gap ad and all.

Speaking of John, I could not be more excited for Away We Go. When I saw the preview months ago, I didn’t even recognize him with that beard. And then I was like, “Dude! That’s John Krasinski!” SP was less than thrilled. The movie comes out today, but I’m going away to Chapel Hill, NC this weekend so I won’t be able to see it right away. I’ve decided that after my deadline next week, I will celebrate turning in my line-edits with an exclusive afternoon viewing. I like going to movies on weekday afternoons when you have the whole theater to yourself. I haven’t done that in years!

One ad I am psyched about is in the July issue of Seventeen. Since I have a subscription, I will be eagerly awaiting the issue, which contains an ad for Waiting for You. I’ll post it when the issue comes out. In the meantime, I have to pack and figure out what I should see in Chapel HIll. I’m going there for a wedding, so I’ll document the wedding cake if it is spectacular. I’m hoping for vanilla with buttercream icing.

12 thoughts on “in which i own summer breeze

comment

