contest extravaganza!

The thing about living in a 400-square-foot apartment is that you can’t have as many bookshelves as you’d like. I have all these:

Waiting for You by Susane Colasanti

but, like, zero shelf space. So I’m having yet another contest to win them! This will be the final contest to celebrate the Waiting for You release, which was last week.

Before I explain the new contest, let’s review the existing ones:

  • Soul Mates Contest – this is a joint contest with Melissa Walker. To enter, watch our video and then tell us your favorite TV or movie soul mates. Ends June 1.
  • Floor Display Contest – take a photo of you with the Waiting for You floor display, out now in Barnes & Noble stores. The most creative photo wins. Note: I’ve extended the rules to also include photos of you with just my books because not all B&N locations put up floor displays. Ends May 30.
  • Blog tour contests – I’ve compiled a list of my May blog tour stops on the Waiting for You page of my website. Each site offered a chance to win a signed copy of Waiting for You. Some of the contests are still open.

And now…this week’s contest! I’m calling it the Living In the Now Contest. In Waiting for You, Marisa struggles with living in the Now. It’s hard for her because she has an anxiety disorder. She’s constantly worrying about stupid things she said and what people think and a bunch of other stuff that prevents her from being present in the moment. So I want to know what you do to enjoy the Now. What things usually make you feel better when you’re sad? When I’m feeling sad, I watch The Office or put on some John Mayer and that fixes me right up. What about you?

To enter: Leave a comment here, telling me your best Living In the Now feel-better strategy. I will select two winners. First prize is a signed copy of Waiting for You. Second prize is a signed copy of Take Me There. You have until 11:11 p.m. on Saturday, May 23 to enter. Good luck!

72 thoughts on “contest extravaganza!

  1. Chocolate ice cream always helps me feel better πŸ™‚ Or writing in my journal and then taking a nap. Both strategies put together is ideal!
    ~pepsivanilla
    pepsivanilla14(at)hotmail(dot)com

  2. Chocolate ice cream always helps me feel better πŸ™‚ Or writing in my journal and then taking a nap. Both strategies put together is ideal!
    ~pepsivanilla
    pepsivanilla14(at)hotmail(dot)com

  3. Living in the Now Contest
    I usually Listen to Iron and Wine on my ipod or read a really interesting book so I can momentarily forget and/or fall into a different world, via a really good sappy romance book.

  4. Living in the Now Contest
    I usually Listen to Iron and Wine on my ipod or read a really interesting book so I can momentarily forget and/or fall into a different world, via a really good sappy romance book.

  5. Relaxing NOW
    I like silence and a deep breath if I am overwhelmed in a crazy situation, but if I am a bit sad/mad/stressed/annoyed I quite enjoy a quick walk around the block while talking to my Dad. He is very wise and very patient and allows me to rant about whatever I need. He then promptly tells me to (in a very polite manner) move on. This was very helpful through my freshman year of college and all the weird adjustments that come with that. But mostly I just talk to myself and wade through the situation while appearing somewhat crazy. I always seem to feel better though.

  6. Relaxing NOW
    I like silence and a deep breath if I am overwhelmed in a crazy situation, but if I am a bit sad/mad/stressed/annoyed I quite enjoy a quick walk around the block while talking to my Dad. He is very wise and very patient and allows me to rant about whatever I need. He then promptly tells me to (in a very polite manner) move on. This was very helpful through my freshman year of college and all the weird adjustments that come with that. But mostly I just talk to myself and wade through the situation while appearing somewhat crazy. I always seem to feel better though.

  7. I’d have to say that my Now feel-better strategy is watching Asian dramas because they have such funny and romantic scenes that just make me squeal! Usually I’ll just pretend that I’m the main girl with the cute guy πŸ™‚ (Thanks for the contest!)

  8. I’d have to say that my Now feel-better strategy is watching Asian dramas because they have such funny and romantic scenes that just make me squeal! Usually I’ll just pretend that I’m the main girl with the cute guy πŸ™‚ (Thanks for the contest!)

  9. Whenever I’m sad, I just start reading a book or eat chocolates. Chocolate always cheers me up lol.
    leeangeli@yahoo dot com

  10. Whenever I’m sad, I just start reading a book or eat chocolates. Chocolate always cheers me up lol.
    leeangeli@yahoo dot com

  11. living in the now contest.
    my living in the now feel-better strategy is definitely reading a good book or writing, or even sleeping does the trick. there’s something about escaping reality until my nerves subside, that just helps me out a great deal.
    thanks for the contest — smd22@bex.net

  12. living in the now contest.
    my living in the now feel-better strategy is definitely reading a good book or writing, or even sleeping does the trick. there’s something about escaping reality until my nerves subside, that just helps me out a great deal.
    thanks for the contest — smd22@bex.net

  13. Living in the Now
    Nothing is more Now than taking a drive on the Long Island Expressway to any of LI’s ocean beaches, listening to some Brand New or Billy Joel. Then, get out and look out at the perfect Atlantic Ocean, the infinite stars and where they meet on the horizon. You’ll feel small, insignificant, but there’s so much beauty that you can’t help but also feel wonderful.
    When I do this, I’ve got to bring a group of friends along so we can sing loud together in the car and then all huddle together at the edge of the water.

  14. Living in the Now
    Nothing is more Now than taking a drive on the Long Island Expressway to any of LI’s ocean beaches, listening to some Brand New or Billy Joel. Then, get out and look out at the perfect Atlantic Ocean, the infinite stars and where they meet on the horizon. You’ll feel small, insignificant, but there’s so much beauty that you can’t help but also feel wonderful.
    When I do this, I’ve got to bring a group of friends along so we can sing loud together in the car and then all huddle together at the edge of the water.

  15. I have to say that sometimes living in the Now is pretty tough for me. But I do have a few strategies that help to cheer me up… one is read a good book that makes me happy. Another is to listen to show tunes or musical soundtracks (Hairspray, Grease, etc). Another would be to watch my favourite shows, especially the comedies… so that would be Friends or How I Met Your Mother, since I have the DVDs.

  16. I have to say that sometimes living in the Now is pretty tough for me. But I do have a few strategies that help to cheer me up… one is read a good book that makes me happy. Another is to listen to show tunes or musical soundtracks (Hairspray, Grease, etc). Another would be to watch my favourite shows, especially the comedies… so that would be Friends or How I Met Your Mother, since I have the DVDs.

  17. Living in the Now
    I listen to The Fray: How to Save a Life album! Something about Hundred, She Is, and Vienna makes me smile and I get up and get back on that proverbial horse!
    The Brainlair
    teach46530 AT gmail DOT com

  18. Living in the Now
    I listen to The Fray: How to Save a Life album! Something about Hundred, She Is, and Vienna makes me smile and I get up and get back on that proverbial horse!
    The Brainlair
    teach46530 AT gmail DOT com

  19. yay!
    I’ve read all three of your books and I am so stoked to enter the floor display contest. You and Sarah Dessen, are by far my favorite teen writers and trust me, tons of other teen girls agree with me on this. I really can’t wait for your fourth book to come out, everytime I pick up your books I can’t put them down, I’m sucked in and don’t stop, much rather move until I’m done. You really understand how hard relationships, life, and high school really is. And you sure know how to put it. Thanks for the great books! πŸ™‚

  20. yay!
    I’ve read all three of your books and I am so stoked to enter the floor display contest. You and Sarah Dessen, are by far my favorite teen writers and trust me, tons of other teen girls agree with me on this. I really can’t wait for your fourth book to come out, everytime I pick up your books I can’t put them down, I’m sucked in and don’t stop, much rather move until I’m done. You really understand how hard relationships, life, and high school really is. And you sure know how to put it. Thanks for the great books! πŸ™‚

  21. oh and for this weeks contest,
    The Now really is a hard thing to grasp when you’re constantly over-analyzing things like I do. When I get in this phase, I usually don’t stop until I pick up a book and start reading. Reading is considered an escape but when I read teen novels I feel like it makes me more focused on what I have, what I would like to change, and how my life relates to the characters in the story. No matter how upset or out of it I am, books always seem to pick me right back up and show me that happiness is out there, I just have to realize it.

  22. oh and for this weeks contest,
    The Now really is a hard thing to grasp when you’re constantly over-analyzing things like I do. When I get in this phase, I usually don’t stop until I pick up a book and start reading. Reading is considered an escape but when I read teen novels I feel like it makes me more focused on what I have, what I would like to change, and how my life relates to the characters in the story. No matter how upset or out of it I am, books always seem to pick me right back up and show me that happiness is out there, I just have to realize it.

  23. Since I got a Nintendo Wii, my living in the now feel-better strategy is to grab my guitar and rock out to some Guitar Hero. I’ve nailed the easy levels on both Legends of Rock III and the Aerosmith edition. Nothing makes you feel better than kicking Slash’s butt in a battle challenge!

  24. Since I got a Nintendo Wii, my living in the now feel-better strategy is to grab my guitar and rock out to some Guitar Hero. I’ve nailed the easy levels on both Legends of Rock III and the Aerosmith edition. Nothing makes you feel better than kicking Slash’s butt in a battle challenge!

  25. When I’m feeling sad, I start singing. XD Songs that sound a little mournful like Boy With a Coin by Iron & Wine or things from the movie Elizabethtown, then more hopeful songs like Be My Escape by Relient K or Tell Me Something Good by The Rocket Summer, stuff like that. It’s a nice, comforting way to let it all out of your system. XD
    Hmmm, to live in the Now? I try to speak up more and be more outgoing and myself if I’m with a group of people I don’t know too well. OR–different scenario–I try to get into an engaging conversation with someone I only know a little bit or even a stranger who happens to be hanging around the same place as I am for whatever reason. xD I can be pretty shy sometimes, so I love when I can get to know someone better and find that I’m so interested in what that person has to say that what I have to say in turn comes out easily, and soon we’re talking for a good hour. Those are my favorite. =)

  26. When I’m feeling sad, I start singing. XD Songs that sound a little mournful like Boy With a Coin by Iron & Wine or things from the movie Elizabethtown, then more hopeful songs like Be My Escape by Relient K or Tell Me Something Good by The Rocket Summer, stuff like that. It’s a nice, comforting way to let it all out of your system. XD
    Hmmm, to live in the Now? I try to speak up more and be more outgoing and myself if I’m with a group of people I don’t know too well. OR–different scenario–I try to get into an engaging conversation with someone I only know a little bit or even a stranger who happens to be hanging around the same place as I am for whatever reason. xD I can be pretty shy sometimes, so I love when I can get to know someone better and find that I’m so interested in what that person has to say that what I have to say in turn comes out easily, and soon we’re talking for a good hour. Those are my favorite. =)

  27. I accidentally gave this in anonymously, sorry. xD Have fun finding the small discrepancies as I try to recreate my comment. Dx

    When I’m feeling sad, I start singing. XD Songs that sound a little mournful like Boy With a Coin by Iron & Wine, and then more hopeful and purposeful like Be My Escape by Relient K or lately, Swim by Jack’s Mannequin. It’s a nice, comforting way to let it out of your system. XD
    Hmm, to live in the Now? I try to speak up more and be more outgoing and myself if I’m with a group of people I don’t know too well. Or–different scenario–I try to get into an engaging conversation with someone I only know a little bit or even with a stranger who happens to be hanging around the same place I am for whatever reason. I can be pretty shy sometimes, so I love when I find myself so interested in what that person has to say that what I have to say in turn just comes out easily, and soon we’re talking for a good hour. <–highly idealized version of events, but they do happen sometimes. XD Those are my favorite. =) For me, if I'm really living in the Now, that means that there's barely a single thought left unspoken in my mind. It's a very freeing feeling.

    • My living in the now strategy are concerts, for those 3 hours or so they take all the problems away, Sure I can’t go to one everytime I would need to so I stick to music that I can relate to at the time & sleep it off.
      Ashley @ ashn702@aol.com

    • My living in the now strategy are concerts, for those 3 hours or so they take all the problems away, Sure I can’t go to one everytime I would need to so I stick to music that I can relate to at the time & sleep it off.
      Ashley @ ashn702@aol.com

  28. I accidentally gave this in anonymously, sorry. xD Have fun finding the small discrepancies as I try to recreate my comment. Dx

    When I’m feeling sad, I start singing. XD Songs that sound a little mournful like Boy With a Coin by Iron & Wine, and then more hopeful and purposeful like Be My Escape by Relient K or lately, Swim by Jack’s Mannequin. It’s a nice, comforting way to let it out of your system. XD
    Hmm, to live in the Now? I try to speak up more and be more outgoing and myself if I’m with a group of people I don’t know too well. Or–different scenario–I try to get into an engaging conversation with someone I only know a little bit or even with a stranger who happens to be hanging around the same place I am for whatever reason. I can be pretty shy sometimes, so I love when I find myself so interested in what that person has to say that what I have to say in turn just comes out easily, and soon we’re talking for a good hour. <–highly idealized version of events, but they do happen sometimes. XD Those are my favorite. =) For me, if I'm really living in the Now, that means that there's barely a single thought left unspoken in my mind. It's a very freeing feeling.

  29. I do one of three things:
    1. Plug in my Ipod and sing as loud as possible (not very well at all I might add).
    2. Read. Read. Read….oh, did I mention that I read?
    3. I’ll hang out with my sister. She’s six years older than me, so we haven’t always been able to be together and be on the same page so to say. But now that we’ve both gotten older, we’re able to connect on so many different levels. There’s something amazing about familiy. They can drive you crazy one minute, and then the next- they’re the only thing that’s keeping you sane. Without her, I would definitely have dropped out of the Now a time or two.
    -Mallory N.

  30. I do one of three things:
    1. Plug in my Ipod and sing as loud as possible (not very well at all I might add).
    2. Read. Read. Read….oh, did I mention that I read?
    3. I’ll hang out with my sister. She’s six years older than me, so we haven’t always been able to be together and be on the same page so to say. But now that we’ve both gotten older, we’re able to connect on so many different levels. There’s something amazing about familiy. They can drive you crazy one minute, and then the next- they’re the only thing that’s keeping you sane. Without her, I would definitely have dropped out of the Now a time or two.
    -Mallory N.

  31. Living in the Now Contest
    When I am feeling sad about something I have done or have said I reread my old journals while writing in my current one. In my journals I write as if I am writing to my future self. I tell my myself encouraging words of wisdom. If this doesn’t work listening to mellow music such as Renee Olstead and Michael buble helps too. I have picked up knitting while doing these things and am on my way to finishing a small part of a scarf or a blanket or I think it is a sock. I don’t know but I f I am feeling sad I will eventually know.

  32. Living in the Now Contest
    When I am feeling sad about something I have done or have said I reread my old journals while writing in my current one. In my journals I write as if I am writing to my future self. I tell my myself encouraging words of wisdom. If this doesn’t work listening to mellow music such as Renee Olstead and Michael buble helps too. I have picked up knitting while doing these things and am on my way to finishing a small part of a scarf or a blanket or I think it is a sock. I don’t know but I f I am feeling sad I will eventually know.

  33. well, there’s a few things.
    if i have to cry, i just let myself cry. the longer i hold it in, the worse it is when it actually comes out.
    most of the time i just turn on really upbeat, happy music until i sort of start dancing and then i usually feel better.
    if neither of those work, i go on youtube and watch videos of people making complete idiots out of themselves. it always makes me laugh.

  34. well, there’s a few things.
    if i have to cry, i just let myself cry. the longer i hold it in, the worse it is when it actually comes out.
    most of the time i just turn on really upbeat, happy music until i sort of start dancing and then i usually feel better.
    if neither of those work, i go on youtube and watch videos of people making complete idiots out of themselves. it always makes me laugh.

  35. When I’m down, I pick one of the following…go out with friends, read a good book(either something I’ve been looking forward to or one of my favourite rereads aka. my comfort books) or I re-arrange my bookshelves or re-arrange things in a room.
    Or maybe go shopping or treat myself to something sugar-laden.

  36. When I’m down, I pick one of the following…go out with friends, read a good book(either something I’ve been looking forward to or one of my favourite rereads aka. my comfort books) or I re-arrange my bookshelves or re-arrange things in a room.
    Or maybe go shopping or treat myself to something sugar-laden.

  37. I either create a plot for my new story or pick a song I know by heart and sing along until I feel better.
    -Thao.

  38. I either create a plot for my new story or pick a song I know by heart and sing along until I feel better.
    -Thao.

  39. Living in the Now
    I live in the Now by reading a book that makes me think about life in general. I felt so compelled to have REAL women equality in the world after reading The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks. After reading Sarah Dessen, E. Lockhart, and Ally Carter books, my mind is always racing about friendships, relationships, ideas, beliefs, girl power, etc. I feel so much a part of this world, of this moment when I read recognize themes that may or may not apply to my life. I love to read The Truth About Forever when I’m down or not of the Now because Wes’ thoughts on flaws give me hope and peace.
    -Kristin L.

  40. Living in the Now
    I live in the Now by reading a book that makes me think about life in general. I felt so compelled to have REAL women equality in the world after reading The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks. After reading Sarah Dessen, E. Lockhart, and Ally Carter books, my mind is always racing about friendships, relationships, ideas, beliefs, girl power, etc. I feel so much a part of this world, of this moment when I read recognize themes that may or may not apply to my life. I love to read The Truth About Forever when I’m down or not of the Now because Wes’ thoughts on flaws give me hope and peace.
    -Kristin L.

  41. I suffer from a severe anxiety disorder, so I know how important it is to “live in the now.”
    When my mind is racing, I recite the alphabet backwards. This usually calms me down and makes me laugh because I try to do it in the sing-song ABC fashion. 1 – I can’t sing. 2 – I inevitably mess up. There’s nothing like laughing at your own silliness to help you get back to the “now.”
    When I’m sad, I blast music that has really great guitar solos. I secretly wish I could be a guitar goddess but can’t seem to grasp the concept. Nothing makes me happier than hearing someone nail a killer guitar solo. John Mayer always impresses me!
    And, when all else fails, I hang out with my dog. Dogs are so silly and loyal. They just love you and think you’re the greatest. No matter what! How can that not make you smile?

  42. I suffer from a severe anxiety disorder, so I know how important it is to “live in the now.”
    When my mind is racing, I recite the alphabet backwards. This usually calms me down and makes me laugh because I try to do it in the sing-song ABC fashion. 1 – I can’t sing. 2 – I inevitably mess up. There’s nothing like laughing at your own silliness to help you get back to the “now.”
    When I’m sad, I blast music that has really great guitar solos. I secretly wish I could be a guitar goddess but can’t seem to grasp the concept. Nothing makes me happier than hearing someone nail a killer guitar solo. John Mayer always impresses me!
    And, when all else fails, I hang out with my dog. Dogs are so silly and loyal. They just love you and think you’re the greatest. No matter what! How can that not make you smile?

  43. Contest
    To help me live in the now and make me feel better i try to escape reality for a while, either through a movie, book, or just a daydream. I find that taking a break from real-life once in awhile helps me to enjoy it more.
    Mia

  44. Contest
    To help me live in the now and make me feel better i try to escape reality for a while, either through a movie, book, or just a daydream. I find that taking a break from real-life once in awhile helps me to enjoy it more.
    Mia

  45. the now…
    hmmm….living in the Now…
    Well, I live on the lake so sometimes I’ll walk outside and sit on one of our rocking chairs and just sit there. No music, no talking, no nothing. I just look at how the water shines where the sun is hitting it. Or laugh at people who are out on the boats and forget that sound travels really well on water (you can catch some really great gossip sometimes). LOL.
    But mainly just looking around me and seeing the beauty that is before me usually will calm me down. It reminds me that those silly things don’t matter in the great big scheme of things. When you thing about it….we are like little ants crawling around compared to how big this world is and to God. It’s a sobering thought to feel so small but it also makes you really thankful to just be LIVING. I like to imagine my family (the deceased ones of course) floating around on clouds above me, watching over me. It’s a comforting thought to know you aren’t alone in this world.
    I can be anywhere and look at something to remind myself of beauty and perfection. You just have to listen to a bird singing or smell a flower to realize that you may not be perfect, but the world around us makes up for it in its perfection.
    shjennings08@gmail.com

  46. the now…
    hmmm….living in the Now…
    Well, I live on the lake so sometimes I’ll walk outside and sit on one of our rocking chairs and just sit there. No music, no talking, no nothing. I just look at how the water shines where the sun is hitting it. Or laugh at people who are out on the boats and forget that sound travels really well on water (you can catch some really great gossip sometimes). LOL.
    But mainly just looking around me and seeing the beauty that is before me usually will calm me down. It reminds me that those silly things don’t matter in the great big scheme of things. When you thing about it….we are like little ants crawling around compared to how big this world is and to God. It’s a sobering thought to feel so small but it also makes you really thankful to just be LIVING. I like to imagine my family (the deceased ones of course) floating around on clouds above me, watching over me. It’s a comforting thought to know you aren’t alone in this world.
    I can be anywhere and look at something to remind myself of beauty and perfection. You just have to listen to a bird singing or smell a flower to realize that you may not be perfect, but the world around us makes up for it in its perfection.
    shjennings08@gmail.com

comment

