calm before the storm

More like calm before the flurry of happy activities.

I’ve been here before. I’m in between handing in a revision and waiting for my book release next month. It’s a time when everything seems to slow down. And then all of a sudden, bam! Everything starts at once and I can hardly get any laundry done. So when the dryer ate all of my quarters yesterday and there was this whole production of going out for more quarters and waiting for the timer to run out so I could try the other dryer and it just turned into Day of Laundry, it wasn’t a major crisis. Because I’m in the calm. If this had happened in the flurry, I would have plotted some serious revenge on the mean dryer.

But fun stuff will start soon. Here are some things that will be happening in the next few weeks:

  • Blog tour, in which I’ll be doing interviews and explaining the Top Ten High School Myths
  • Reading here in NYC
  • Several contests to win Waiting for You and my other books
  • Take Me There video, featuring locations from the book
  • Waiting for You author video

The friendly neighbors at Penguin arranged to film me for the Waiting for You video a couple weeks ago. It was this super nice day, so instead of filming it at Penguin we walked to the river and filmed on a pier. I’m excited about seeing the book trailers, but I am not looking forward to hearing my voice. At all.

I sort of have a voice phobia. It only applies to hearing my voice. Not in my head when I talk to other people (where it sounds fine), but out in the world where I’m hearing it recorded (where it sounds strange). I can’t even record my voice on my answering machine. In college, I had that vintage R.E.M. lyric that’s like, “She will return.” Then when I moved to New York, I had part of James Taylor’s “Another Day.” No one appreciated these excursions into the creative realm. People just wanted the freaking beep already. So now I have a message recorded by SP. It sounds very professional.

While the calm still exists this weekend, I’ll be catching up on scrapbooking, reading this amazing manuscript (which is top secret, or else I would totally tell you about it), and deciding what should be next in my Netflix queue. Oh, and avoiding the mean dryer.

9 thoughts on “calm before the storm

  1. I have a bit of a voice phobia, but I’m doing much better with it. Since I’ve started recording vlogs, I’m beginning to like my voice more and I’m not as critical and/or embarassed by my voice, lol.
    However, I am still extremely critical of how I look in photographs, no matter how many get taken, lol.

    • Totally hear you on the photos! I have to take so many to get one that’s sort of okay looking. And you have a point about frequency – the more I hear my real world voice, the more tolerant I’ll become (hopefully).

  2. The video sounds really exciting! I understand about the voice phobia – everybody’s got something. Either it’s their face or their smile or their voice or their hair. Videos make people self-conscious! But I’m sure you’ll do great. You’re totally inspired by your book & the scenery, and you’ve actually given author talks and everything, so you got this in the bag. πŸ˜‰

  3. my voice phobia is insane.
    i don’t talk in class, and if i do, i have to repeat myself because i’m so quiet.
    i’m loud around my friends,
    but not any other time.
    i prefer to not talk in front of people i don’t know.

  4. I can’t wait to see these videos. πŸ™‚
    and I totally agree with the voice thing. When I “hear” my voice, like when talking to people, I’m like heeeeey..nice voice. But then if I listen to a message I left on the answering machine for my parents it’s all high pitched and ugly and I’m like “is that how I REALLY sound?” I hate it.

  5. i have voice phobia too
    i totally know what you’re talking about when it comes to voice phobia. i have the exact same thing. i hate having to watch these old family videos and stuff because i sound like a chipmunk when my voice is recorded, my sister, who usually is pretty good at taking, sounds like she has a lisp when she gets recorded

comment

