definitely something, maybe

Elizabeth Scott is the queen of contests. She’s so generous! She has contests on her blog all the time. And with really good prizes. She gives away tons of her own books, plus other authors’ books and lots of gift certificates. The first-prize winner of her current contest will get to name their own star. She’s celebrating the existence of her new book, Something, Maybe, which was released yesterday. I am really looking forward to reading it!

This one time, Elizabeth’s husband was singing “Hot Blooded” by Foreigner and he was all, “Well I’m hot blooded, chicken at sea…” And she was like, “Um, it’s ‘check it and see’.” I like this example of a mondegreen. Mondegreens are lyrics that we think we’re hearing when we can’t tell what a song is really saying. Like in “Purple Haze”, some people hear “excuse me while I kiss this guy” instead of “excuse me while I kiss the sky.” Elton John’s “Rocket Man” has a bunch. I find everyone’s misheard lyrics fascinating.

Renee (aka The Book Girl) blogged about the Books of Wonder signing. She got pics with everyone! She got to see authors I didn’t even see! Fun fact: In the photo of Renee with Scott Westerfeld, SP can be seen on the left. With my arm. It’s like when the junior high yearbook would come out and there’d be a photo where just my arm is showing on the side and I’d go, “That’s my arm!” I was such a dork.

Penguin did a huge Waiting for You galley mailing and more reviews are popping up. The reviews at Katie’s Book Blog and Hope’s Bookshelf give you more info about the story.


Very Hungry Caterpillar Day Google doodle

You may have noticed Google’s artwork on March 20. If you were like me, you jumped up and went over to pet your Very Hungry Caterpillar stuffed caterpillar. It’s was the book’s 40th anniversary! Infinite thanks to Eric Carle for making the world a better place.

8 thoughts on “definitely something, maybe

  1. you!
    You’re too sweet, but I adore you for it! I’m sorry we aren’t book twins anymore, but YAY! for your book’s release being moved up–I want to hear all about it and the promo when I see you on the 1st 🙂

  2. Something, Maybe should be coming in the mail for me soon, and i’m SOOO excited to read it!
    when i really love a song, i make sure i know the lyrics.
    this usually involves listening to the song millions of times until i am incapable of forgetting.

    • It’s so easy now with Google. I’m blown away that you can find any lyrics you want in like two seconds. I used to listen to songs over and over and I’d still get bunches wrong. Kids have it so easy nowadays 😉

  3. I say mondegreens all the time! Except sometimes they’re not even words, just random syllables and letters. I’ll be like, this sounds like part of this word, and this sounds like part of that word, so I’ll just go with that.
    Also, you can see your head too in that picture! (I think. Your hair is nice and long and shiny.)
    I’m excited after reading the new info about Waiting for You!
    ~Niki

comment

