win a book

My bookshelves are way too crowded and I have to make room for incoming shipments. So I’m giving away one of my books! You may choose to receive a signed copy of either When It Happens (paperback), Take Me There (hardcover), or Waiting for You (ARC).

To enter, leave a comment telling me one unique thing about you. I will pick a winner at random. You have until 11:11 p.m. on Friday the 13th to enter. I picked this time because one unique thing about me is that if I randomly look at the clock and it’s 11:11, I make a wish. And Friday the 13th has always been my lucky day (since I decided to own it instead of being ruled by supposed negative energy). These are probably unique things about me, although it’s possible that lots of you do the same sorts of things. Let’s start sharing other unique things and see what we have in common!

29 thoughts on “win a book

  1. unique!
    I love to eat frozen strawberries. They’re just sitting in my freezer, and I reach in the bag when I want a few and just pop them in my mouth. teehee. they’re delicious!
    Oh, and I’m really excited for Waiting For You, although that’s probably not that unique.
    ~Niki πŸ˜€

  2. unique thing about me
    I was a debutante, and can still do a Texas Dip (the elaborate sink-to-the-floor bow you do in a poufy white dress).
    –Lauren (maybeimamazed02@yahoo.com)

  3. Contest, Me
    Hmmm…. Whats something interesting about me. Every time I start a new school year my teachers talk in small words to me because I look pretty much like a dumb blonde. Then I write something and they feel stupid.

  4. UNIQUITY…?
    i’m afraid of bananas…
    i cannot stand it when people eat,
    or talk about bananas.. when i see
    a banana, i walk the opposite way..
    but i still like banana bread.. =/
    (: holy cheeseburger, i really wouldn’t
    mind getting Waiting for You. (:

  5. Unique
    Here’s a unique thing about me:
    My older sister and I have the same birthday. How? Well, let’s just say that I was the best birthday present she ever received! (at least that’s what I tell myself)
    -Mallory

  6. Unique Me
    I can bend my right pinkie all the way back so that it touches the back of my hand. If I could I would draw you a picture, but it is kind of gross and am reminded of that each time I show my friends.

  7. The em dash is my favorite punctuation mark and has been since my senior year of high school (eight or so years now). I love educating people about the em dash and en dash and hyphen really. I don’t know if those people appreciate the knowledge as much as I do.
    I also want to get some sort of em dash tattoo…but have yet to figure out a cool way to make it look like more than a thick black line/rectangle.

  8. I’m a firefighter being one of two females in a department full of over 50 career and 50 volunteer. I was literally born into when my mom gave birth to me the 31st of October in FDNY-155 house.

  9. Unique
    I once loved someone so much it hurt. I’m sure that’s not unique, but maybe the fact that breaking up with her was, and is to this day still is, the hardest thing I have ever done qualifies. That’s probably still not unique either. Hmmmm, maybe the fact that I was friends with a professional clown that was in the Army? How’s that for unique!?

  10. Uniquey
    Well..I’ll list a few things..I was born with one of my pinky toes being noticeably shorter than the other one..and I’ve been in a long distance relationship for over a year now(two years on August 2 ^^) andd..I used to be a baton twirler and I still remember some moves πŸ˜€
    Yay I would love to get Waiting For you πŸ˜€ So excited. Can’t wait to see who wins.
    -LikeOhMahGoose

  11. i chew food equal times on both sides of my mouth.
    i chew a few times on the left, and a few times on the right.
    i always have to end on the right.
    i always switch positions at least twice before i can fall asleep.
    i almost always remember my dreams.

  12. If I’m in an unfamiliar house I feel like I need to peek behind the shower curtain before I use the bathroom. I’m really not sure why, I’m just kinda creeped out if I don’t do it!
    I would love to win Waiting For You πŸ™‚
    ~pepsivanilla
    pepsivanilla14(at)hotmail(dot)com

  13. Unique
    Something unique about me…hmm…once I start telling a story, and if someone
    interupts me, I have to start over again. And if they interupt me again, I have to start over again, and again and again until my story is finished w/o being interputed. My friends love to interupt me… they think it’s funny.

  14. I go to sleep listening to public radio – it’s BBC World News overnight and Morning Edition when I wake up. Somehow listening to the news/stories clears my mind and helps me to relax (go figure?).
    Thanks for this little contest – it’s fun to read about people’s unique qualities πŸ™‚
    -Nancy

  15. I built a play pen for my dwarf hamster out of one of those big plastic kiddie pools. I filled it with bedding and then made fun obstacles for her out of real little kid’s toys. She has a swing set made from a rope and wooden platform. The pool takes up half of my bedroom but my baby’s worth it! Also, I often feed her a bit of what I’m eating. Popcorn, pizza, poptarts, doughnuts, pancakes, french fries… Mack may just be the most spoiled hamster ever!

  16. One unique thing about me? I can’t drink pasteurized cow milk. Even the sight of it makes me sick. I guess that’s partly why I’m so short now : (
    -Thao

  17. Unique and embarrassing..
    I was afraid start a relationship, i found myself passing up on people whom i now know were amazing because i wanted o get it right the first time around. I cried when a boy tried to kiss me, and the thing was, he was actually a great guy. But i had thoughts and images built up in my head on how perfect i thought i could make my first everything… So, i didn’t kiss,date anyone until i was 20. I suppose i’m a late bloomer…
    Oh, and i didn’t get it right the first time around.
    I blame books for my unmeetable standards ha!
    Jennifer- Asilverflamedsky@yahoo.com

  18. i hope you find this unique
    I love to go to sleep when it rains. i dont care for the rain when im in it (nor does it bother me) but i really find it soothing to just fall asleep to the nice sound.
    P.S. i love your books so much. i have them both and cant wait for the third but i want my friend to read one of them so much and since her birth day is only a week away it would be the coolest present for her evver. thanx for reading this πŸ™‚

  19. youneek mi
    I don’t tend to consider myself to be a very unique individual, honestly. πŸ™‚
    Some things that I suppose are unique about me include the following:
    -Since I was about five years old, I knew I wanted to be one of two things when I “grew up,” a teacher or an actress. I have been teaching high school for eight years now, and have discovered that I DO have to “act” every now and again. I guess I got the best of both professions. πŸ™‚
    -I met my husband via the internet before websites really came into existence. (1993) We met over a chat site while he lived in Germany, and I in Ohio. We know about ten other couples that met via the same chat site and also got married. We were all friends with a common interest in electronic music.
    -I seem to have a knack for connecting with the “rough” group of students at my school. These are the kids who are consistently in trouble, may be a part of a gang, or who come to school for passing time, lunch, and my class. These kids are almost the mirror opposite of what I was like as a high school student.
    -I have OCD about putting my shoes and socks on. IT MUST go right sock, right shoe, left sock, left shoe. If I already have socks on, I have to take them off and get out a new pair to put on before putting on my shoes. As a result, I always have a ton of dirty socks.

  20. Some unique thing about me… I love teen movies from the 80’s. The are some great ones that many people doesn’t know and there are some romantic movies that are wonderful. And I like psychological thrillers too, or heavy suspense, but I don’t like horror movies.
    Juliet

  21. to be or not to be (unique)
    when i ‘randomly’ look at the clock and it’s 11:11 or 1:11, I pause, make a wish, remind myself that i’m exactly where i should be (since we always are)
    and when i was about 8 years old, I decided that Friday the 13th is my official lucky day both because I observed having especially wonderful days on Friday the 13th (this was likely influenced by my strong desire to dispel the rumors that it’s a cursed day…you see, i’m always on the underdog’s side, even friday the 13th)
    so i guess what makes me unique is that i’m not so unique
    laila

comment

