the arc of a love affair

1988: Wrote Paul Simon lyrics all over my Keds way before doing that kind of thing was accepted as cool (I was nerd chic like that). Had this thing where I’d trace my hand with a metallic outliner on my binder cover and write Paul Simon lyrics inside. Obsessed with visions of streetlights and city sounds and sunsets sifting through trees and every other picture Paul Simon painted in his songs. Felt the magic of New York City in his songs and knew it would feel like home to live there (here). Wished for a book of Paul Simon lyrics so I could cherish them all together.

2008: My wish came true.

Paul Simon's Lyrics

How brilliant is this? Lyrics to all of Paul Simon’s songs are included in this new book, Lyrics 1964-2008. Paul was at Barnes & Noble last night and I was planning to get there at 4:00 for his 7:00 interview. So of course I’ve been smacked down with a nasty case of food poisoning for the past two days and there was no way I could go. But I have this book. And I have my memories.

Some of my favorite lyrics, from “Train in the Distance”:

The thought that life could be better
Is woven indelibly
Into our hearts
And our brains

And from “Bookends Theme”:

Long ago…it must be…
I have a photograph
Preserve your memories
They’re all that’s left you

5 thoughts on “the arc of a love affair

  1. You know what’s really cool about your dreams is that you don’t seem to have idealized, for example, New York City. There’s obviously a lot of bad things about NYC as well as good, but you seem to be able to deal with those things very, very well, and you still love the city. You don’t feel like you had an idealized perception of what it would be like to live there. You truly enjoy it every day! 🙂
    That is what is hard for me… so many things are just not the way I thought they’d be, even when I succeed in accomplishing goals. Sometimes I then regret pursuing the goal or making a long term decision in the first place.
    It’s cool to see everything come together like this for you, though. You’re totally in the right spot! So sorry about the food poisoning however… that’s awful!

    • I love how you’ve put this! Yes, I am a proud New Yorker and wouldn’t want to live anywhere else. I feel like I’ve always belonged here. Paul Simon has a way of capturing the true city, the beauty and grit and traffic sounds all at once. I definitely see the bad things here and sometimes get sad about them, but I focus on the things I love about living here.
      No regrets! If you are following your heart and achieve a goal, that is a great accomplishment! No matter how the reality differs from your preconceptions (it always does, right?). The cool thing about being in a new place is that you can then see what your next steps should be in a clearer way. Keep following your heart and you will end up where you belong. Don’t stop believing 🙂

      • Thank you, Susane. Honestly, things have been going a lot better for me since Sept. than they have in three and a half years! I’m kind of holding my breath, but, it’s nice to feel happy again. I’m very grateful. 🙂
        OMG, also, you were in my dream last night! You were doing a book signing at a theatre (lol) that must have been in my town, because I saw all these kids that I used to go to school with there. Not that you would actually come here; we don’t even have a big bookstore!

comment

