pub dates

Spectacular book news: The French rights to Take Me There have been sold! The German edition will be probably be published first (next fall), but soon I’ll have two translations with two very interesting covers, I’m sure. Stay tuned for covert art. I’m also wondering if the spelling of my name will change. It’s always so fascinating to see Meg Cabot’s many foreign covers and how her name is displayed on them.

My extra friendly neighbors at Penguin have made some thrilling plans for the Waiting for You release, including another floor display featuring all three books. It’s going to be a sizzling hot summer for Viking, so Waiting for You will not be released during my usual month of May. Viking has some amazing book releases coming up. We have Laurie Halse Anderson’s Wintergirls in May and Sarah Dessen’s Along for the Ride in June. Sizzle!

The Waiting for You pub date is July 9. Take Me There will be released in paperback on May 28 with a Waiting for You teaser included. Both of these dates have awesome significance. May 28 is Manhattanhenge (check out my photos of last Manhattanhenge) and July 9 is the anniversary of my good friends Laila and Gerard. I believe this magic to be a sign of good things to come. As David Life says, there are no coincidences.

2 thoughts on “pub dates

  1. Congratulations! That’s a lot of good news at once! =D
    How common is it for books to be published in other countries? I’ve cataloged quite a few that obviously originated elsewhere (like Inkheart), but was not sure what the likelihood of that happening was. In any case, it’s VERY cool! Now you can be all Carrie Bradshaw and discover your book displayed in Paris. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Thank you! Sweet, I didn’t even think of the Carrie thing. But of course I wouldn’t miss my party due to some neurotic artist ๐Ÿ˜‰
      I’m not really sure what the prerequisites are in order for a book to be published elsewhere. I’m guessing a certain amount of American sales are needed before foreign publishers consider taking a risk on the book. For example, Meg Cabot has many translations and many sales! It will be interesting to see which country picks it up next (hopefully, these sales will generate more interest).

comment

