inside info

Ashley of Ashley’s Bookshelf reviewed When It Happens. Her site has been reviewing books since June, so go over and show her some love.

Pop quiz! What did I get at New York Hotdog and Coffee on Saturday?

a. hot dog
b. coffee
c. waffle

If you picked a., then you missed the part where I’m a vegetarian. That’s okay. Anyway, they now have veggie dogs, so you might have thought it was a trick question. I really liked creating trick questions when I was a teacher. Because the more you challenge your noodle, the sharper your noodle becomes. That is called a win-win situation. Michael Scott would even take it one step further and call it a win-win-win situation.

Or maybe you picked b. Well, their coffee is tasty and they have decaf, but that is not the correct answer. The correct answer is c. Waffles at New York Hotdog and Coffee?! Those wacky kids! The owner’s daughter, Jane, told me where the idea for that unlikely hot dog/coffee combo came from. One day, her mom was eating a hot dog. Then she had some coffee with it. She was like, “Hey! These two things taste great together!” And that was it.

I find this fascinating.

Also fascinating: the Rubik’s Cube. I don’t know about you, but I can never get enough Rubik’s Cube solution tricks. How stoked was I to find this dude on YouTube, dropping some serious Rubik’s knowledge?

4 thoughts on “inside info

  1. I have always been amazed at people who can solve those things. Seriously, if i saw someone doing it really fast, i would just stop and stare and say to them “that’s awesome.”-i know weird. but i am a total math geek and still have no idea how to do that and i think it is amazing.
    I watched the video-how the heck could u memorize those sequence things(right inverted down….ect) Now i’m going to have to watch that video a million times untill i finally solve it. Thanks so much for posting it!!!
    ~Mia

    • I know! And he’s so fast with it, I can hardly tell what he’s doing. But I bet if we practiced with our Cubes along with the video we could memorize those algorithms. He had to have started somewhere, right?

comment

