busting out my toque

I’m off to Montreal for SP’s family reunion. It will not be like Toronto was last weekend because a.) there’s a lot more to do in Montreal and b.) it will be cold. Below freezing cold. Which means only one thing. Time to bust out my toque.

For those of you unfamiliar with Canadian speak, a toque (pronounced “tuke”) is one of those really warm hats with the ear flaps and pom-pom on top. The bigger the pom-pom, the more fabulous the toque. Mine has a medium-sized pom-pom, so I’ll be looking for a bigger one while I’m there.

I heard Joe the Plumber has a toque like that.

On the plane, I’ll be reading I Am the Messenger by Markus Zusak. Dude, this book is so freaking good! I love the whole Pay It Forward theme with a twist. And Markus is such a sensitive, entertaining writer. Good on you, Markus!

I Am the Messenger by Marcus Zusak

This weekend, do something radical. See you on Tuesday.

4 thoughts on “busting out my toque

  1. I Am the Messenger
    I heard that I Am the Messenger is really good. Is it anywhere similar to the Book Thief? I loved that one.

    • Re: white file folders
      I got them at the Container Store. If you don’t have one of those in San Fran, you can order the white hanging folders from their website. With cool file folders to match!

comment

