streetlights, people

The 80s was a weird decade. It had weird clothes, weird music, and weird Valley Girl speak. I made fun of a lot of music back then and hoped I’d never hear those songs again. So it’s really funny that now when I hear most cheesy 80s songs, I’m all like, “Nostalgia! Yeah!”

Last night I saw Rock of Ages, a new musical set in the late 80s. It was so freaking awesome! The show managed to make fun of itself and how ridiculous 80s music was, while celebrating it all at the same time. Which is not an easy technique to master. They played some of my fave 80s songs, like Extreme’s “More Than Words” and Foreigner’s “Waiting for a Girl Like You”, plus some Air Supply and Journey. Dude, I’ve been playing Journey all week on repeat! How did they know? And when someone busted out a T-shirt that said 867.5309, it was too good.

Here’s my friend Joe with Lauren Molina, who worked her butt off and nailed two very different characters in the show:

Joe Torello and Lauren Molina

The lead guy was played by Constantine Maroulis, who rocked the house and then let me put my cheek on his cheek:

Constantine Maroulis and Susane Colasanti

The core of the show is all about following your heart. It’s about a small-town girl who moves to the big city to achieve her dreams. I’m that same dreamer and I believe that anything is possible. Journey said it best: Don’t stop believing. Hold on to that feeling.

comment

