a beautiful day for a neighbor

When I read the news that PBS was canceling Mister Rogers’ Neighborhood, I was not a happy unit.  I feel this overwhelming loss over yet another important role model being labeled as outdated.  Dude, that just makes him classic.  The values his show inspires aren’t strictly old-school.  They are timeless.  Kids will always need to learn how to be friendly neighbors and Fred Rogers was the OFN (Original Friendly Neighbor).

Of course we’re protesting.  Find out how you can help.

This is one of my favorite quotes from The World According to Mister Rogers:  Important Things to Remember:

“If you could only sense how important you are to the lives of those you meet; how important you can be to the people you may never even dream of.  There is something of yourself that you leave at every meeting with another person.”

Here’s the opening segment of the very first episode.  I dare you not to get all verklempt.

2 thoughts on “a beautiful day for a neighbor

  1. I will have to take a look at that later. I loved Mr. Rogers.
    I just wanted to let you know that I just got “When It Happens” in the mail today. I haven’t read any of your books yet, so I am excited to read it. I will let you know what I think ; )

comment

