it’s the little things

I’m all about the little things in life.  Like seeing that the When It Happens page in Penguin’s summer catalogue has The Outsiders on the other side.  If you told me that I’d be on the other side of S.E. Hinton’s masterpiece back in the day when I was sleeping with The Outsiders under my pillow (as part of an osmosis/creative visualization/obsession thing), I would have been like, No way.  Fact:  Energy of the universe rocks.

Here’s a little thing that’s a big deal to those of us who care about punctuation:  Saving the semicolon.  Apparently, the growing influence of English in France is challenging the semicolon’s fate.  Read all about it.

In celebration of National Poetry Month, you can receive Knopf’s poem-a-day e-newsletter.  What better way to start your day than with a poem that makes you happy?  Sign up at their website.

Patchin Place streetlamp
 The oldest publicly operated streetlight in Manhattan resides in my neighborhood.  It was originally a gas lamp in the 1890’s, but was converted to electricity before 1920.  Which totally reminds me of the lamplighter from The Little Prince.  If you’re into the little things of New York with lots of history, check out more cool stuff here.
4 thoughts on “it’s the little things

  1. I know exactly how you feel, I had the same moment of joy when my first book was opposite a francine pascal title. (Apparently your literary tastes are a bit classier than mine, but same idea…)

    • Get out! I love Francine! She spoke at a SCBWI conference a couple years ago and I was so excited I could barely remain seated. I liked her writing schedule: Five days a week, no weekends, and if you asked her to lunch she probably wouldn’t write that day, either 😉

comment

