everything is connected

As today is Blog Action Day, every blogger is supposed to come together and blog about the environment.  The idea is that if everyone raises awareness about an important issue, then maybe people will pay attention and think about how they’re wrecking the Earth.  Of course, when the Earth no longer exists because we’ve completely destroyed it with our selfish, toxic ways, then people might notice.  If they’re not too busy killing each other in stupid wars.

So my idea is this:  Everything is connected.  If you know me, you know that I say this a lot.  Because it is so true.  But today I’m just talking about how this relates to the environment.  Everything you do affects the planet in some way.  It may not be a way you can see or measure or even know about, but everything is connected.  Every action you take has a reaction.  Actions have consequences.  Big wheel of karma and all.

When I was in my early twenties and still trying to figure out who I am and how I fit in with the rest of the world, sometimes I’d say things that I would never say now.  Example.  I get so flaming ticked off when someone throws garbage on the ground.  Like this one time?  A woman on the subway threw her gum wrapper on the floor, with her kid sitting next to her watching the whole thing like it was acceptable behavior.  So I picked up the wrapper and held it out to her and said, “I think you dropped this.”  And I guess she thought I was so crazy for even talking to her, forget about picking up her garbage and trying to give it back to her, that she just took it and went, “Uh…thanks.”

I mean, seriously.  Who does that person think they are?  Where does that person think the garbage is going to go?  Will it magically disintegrate into nothingness?  Most likely, that person thinks it doesn’t matter.  That the street sweeper will get it or eventually it will just find its way into the rest of the trash and it’s not a big deal.

But it does matter.  Everything matters.  Even everyday common things, like these:

  1. Running the water the whole time while you wash dishes/brush your teeth/clean the bathroom.
  2. Turning the air conditioner on when you can just open a window.
  3. Getting a bag/utensils/colossal wad of napkins at a store when you don’t need them.
  4. Leaving your lights/TV/computer on when you’re not home.
  5. Not recycling paper/plastic/aluminum/glass.

You know how you are what you eat?  You are also what you breathe, what you hear, what you feel, and what you see.  When you remember that everything is connected, you will respect the Earth by respecting yourself.

One.

comment

