9.11

Here in New York, everyone has their story.  Where they were when they heard that it happened.  What they saw when they looked downtown.  How they got home from work that day.

And then there are those of us who were supposed to be there.  I’m sure you’ve heard some of these.  Running fifteen minutes late saved someone’s life.  Standing in a long line for coffee at 8:46 saved another.  Or just feeling, for no particular reason, that going to work on such a gorgeous day would be unbearable.

Here’s another one.

I was there with my friend, Stephen, the night of September 8, 2001.  No one else was around.  I stood next to the Twin Towers and tilted my head way back and took pictures of them.  Because that’s what they were to me.  We wanted to go to Windows on the World, but it was closed.  We decided to go back Tuesday.

That Tuesday, of course, was September 11.

He comes back to visit every year.  And every year, we walk down to Ground Zero to be there again.  To be in the place that once had such intense energy it took my breath away.  Every time I saw them, it took my breath away.  Every single time.  This of course has to do with my obsession with them, how they were in so many dreams I had when I was younger, calling me here.  Now I’m here and they’re gone.  But their energy will never die.

Tribute in Light looks like two towers of light from a distance.  But up close, you can see that they actually consist of 88 individual searchlights.  I took these pictures at Ground Zero in 2004:

September 11, 2004

 

September 11, 2004     September 11, 2004

September 11, 2004

 

September 11, 2004

 

September 11, 2004

 

I still see the shadows of them, where they’re supposed to be.  I always look closer, hoping.

2 thoughts on “9.11

  1. to live and to love
    Dear Sue,
    I am so moved after reading your blog that I cannot think. It took my breath away. I feel sad like I want to cry.
    You wrote:
    To be in the place that once had such intense energy it took my breath away. Every time I saw them, it took my breath away. Every single time. This of course has to do with my obsession with them, how they were in so many dreams I had when I was younger, calling me here. Now I’m here and they’re gone. But their energy will never die.
    You conjur so many thoughts.
    Your destiny. What destiny means in general. Does destiny exist? It seems so.
    How they drew you to NY. How you were for some time there together. Now, they are gone.
    It is always mind blowing to me that you went there that Saturday. You were supposed to be there on Tuesday. You are never supposed to be there, not even close, teaching in a different burrough. Why then? It seems beyond coincidence. Like you were drawn to something. You call it ‘the energy’. What is this energy? As if you saw the future as a child. As if you saw your destiny in your dreams. Because you love them so much and when you love something or someone so much, that is because it is part of your destiny, or certainly becomes your destiny in your love. Your heart is so great and generous….like a great poet wrote (I think Rumi, and I do not know if I quote him properly) that those who have the purest of hearts see farthest into the future.
    Love is time is God is destiny.
    Thinking of you. Thinking of all those who suffered that day and afterwards.
    Crushed like you. Beyond crushed. Confused, frozen.
    Which is why we are drawn to carry out our destiny which is to live and to love. To make the world a better place.
    love,
    lai

  2. Pingback: we will never forget | Susane Colasanti – Blog

comment

