paper products are so hot right now

I’ve been waiting for this day for so long I can’t even tell you.

And now it’s finally here.

Season Three of The Office has been released.  And I have been to Circuit City to buy what was probably the first copy to be sold today.  It was fresh off the rack and looking gorgeous.  And at the bargain price of $29.99, by the way, because when I saw their $39.99 price tag with no hint of a new-release sale, I was not having that.  The cashier picked up on my adrenaline rush and gave me the online price.  Sweet.

New Office eps are a huge deal in my life for the following reasons:

1.  Jim Halpert rocks my world.
2.  I am addicted to this show and refuse to undergo treatment.
3.  Since I’ve never owned a TV, I don’t even know what happened with Jim and Pam.

You may be wondering if there’s a particular reason I don’t have a TV.  Yeah, there is.  Lots of them, actually.  I can also explain why I don’t have a cell phone (or even a cordless phone) or a microwave or call waiting or a freezer.  But that’s a whole other blog entry.  Since I don’t have a TV, that means I have no idea what’s happening with my shows.  I watch The Office, Grey’s Anatomy, and 24 when they come out on DVD (on my awesome iBook).  Oh, and SP has gotten me into Entourage.  So I have to wait until everyone’s already seen the whole season and attempt to avoid spoilers and there’s all of this excitement and anticipation built up and then a day like today arrives.  And life is good.

Now.  Here’s the question.  Do I devour all 22 episodes in a frantic marathon viewing frenzy?  Or do I space them out, restraining myself over a few weeks, only watching one or two eps a day?  You may think I’d want to watch them all right away to know what happens.  And of course I can’t wait to find out (I’ve heard that Pam walks out of her wedding, but chose not to absorb this information as factual).  But what happens when you inhale all of the eps in one extended sitting is that then you don’t have any eps left.  They’re all gone.  And that’s a very lonely feeling.  Whereas if you contain yourself and don’t OD, you can maintain your level of excitement for a much longer time period.

I prefer the stretching-it-out method.  Anticipation is a rush.

8 thoughts on “paper products are so hot right now

  1. double that vote
    dear Sue,
    definitely, I vote for the stretching-it-out method. but, I must add, at first I was like “of course you must do the see it all in one sitting frenzy”. But then, I realized that would be one long sitting. Information overload. It’s different with books, where you can put it down for 5min, take little breaks. But with viewing, you have to do it according to real-time and their time. No skipping pages, fast forward, reverse. Although you can replay scenes, I guess.
    lvd,
    ps: since when have you been listening to “Zero 7”? I listened to them a lot 5-6y ago.
    Now, I feel old

        • right on
          I could not agree with you more: there should be some rules here! food etiquette
          cucumbers in ice water: yum
          paprika in lemonade: what are you thinking!?
          very mild curry in chocolate: can work
          anise, even sea salt can be delicious in handmade chocolate but vinegar in chocolate: forget it! that should be called “spoiled”. Keep the vinegar for those Shanghai dumplings.
          and not to forget: flavored coffee should not be called coffee! It’s a “coffee flavored drink”.
          and, I agree, cream cheese is never cheese cake no matter what it is served in or on
          -lvd

  2. fyi
    you know, you can buy individual episodes on itunes, shortly after the episode airs. no need to wait for the dvd to find out what happens to jim and pam.

comment

