most epic wish ever

If you’ve read any of my books or you’ve been reading this blog for a while, you know I’m all about dreaming big. Simply put, I would not be here today without dreaming big. And by “here” I mean here in the West Village working at home on a blog post for you. None of those things would be reality today if I had given up.

Never, ever give up.

You can create your ideal life by clarifying how you want your life to be, making plans to reach your goals, and then taking steps every day to turn your dreams into reality. Sending positive energy out into the Universe is key. When you make your dreams clear to the Universe, serendipity takes over. Wishing is a good way to do this.

Which is why I’m psyched that today is 11.11.11.

Today is the day for us to make the most epic wish ever.

At 11:11 (both a.m. and p.m. for emphasis), I’m wishing for the three things I want to see the most in 2012. Since this is the most epic wish ever, I could dream even bigger and make wishes for my whole life and world peace and that no child will ever go to bed hungry again and abuse will cease to exist and for everyone to have affordable, quality health care. With dental insurance. Because, hello, last time I checked teeth were part of your body. How stupid is it that health insurance doesn’t include dental?

But that’s way more stuff than I could wish for in two minutes.

So I’ll just be wishing for the three. Why three?  Three and eleven are auspicious numbers. They have magical powers. The combination should be mind-blowing. Sending wishes out into the Universe online is a good way to go. I hope you’ll share your wishes in the comments. And I will join you by posting mine here:

WISH 1 – For Keep Holding On to reach as many teens affected by bullying as possible. This is my story in a lot of ways. I hope it will help kids surviving hard times to feel less alone.

WISH 2 – To find my dream home in 2012. I’ve been searching for a while. Buying an apartment is not an easy thing to do in my neighborhood. But I’m not scared. I have a very good feeling that 2012 is my year.

WISH 3 – For a health issue I’ve been living with to be resolved. It’s not too serious. But it’s taken over my life and it needs to stop. I just keep repeating this like a mantra: It could be worse. Much worse. And things are getting better. I had an MRI yesterday, which was super loud and scary and I’m not even exaggerating when I tell you that right when the first scary loud noise started, “Empire State of Mind Part II” came on. That’s how I knew I would be okay. Shout-out to Alicia Keys – you saved me, girl! After everything is resolved, I might share this journey with you (still figuring out if it would be helpful or whiny). There are some funny parts, like being the youngest person in various waiting rooms of seniors, and some scary parts, like getting a biopsy. I’ll let you know what happens. The important thing is that I’m going to be okay.

This last bit of inspiration is brought to you by George Eliot:

“It’s never too late to be what you might have been.”

Let’s make it happen.