south beach love

Well, I’m back from a few relaxing days in South Beach. We stayed at the new W South Beach. I am a major fan of W Hotels, with their fun lighting and cool color schemes. When we checked in, I was raving about how much I love Ws and the lady checking us in asked me which one I liked the best. I told her it was the W San Diego, followed by the W Montreal (the ones here in New York all look amazing, but I’ve only stayed at the W Times Square). She was like, “This one will be your new favorite.” And she was right! Best. W. Ever. Our room was huge. It had a private balcony overlooking both the beach and city, massive bathroom with two sinks, closet/drawer space for days, a refrigerator, two flat-screen TVs, and of course Bliss body butter. I was in heaven. I even got to chill with Sting in the hall:

Sting with Susane Colasanti at the W South Beach

Not that I got to enjoy my room enough. My days were spent lounging by the pool and nights were for exploring. In my world, this is a perfect kind of decadence. One thing you should know about me is that I’m into decadence. Line up ten different eyeglass frames or coffee tables or bags without telling me how much they cost and I will inevitably be lusting after the most expensive one. Which is a hoot and a holler, considering I couldn’t really afford it. So I like to create decadence by enjoying the little things. It made me so happy to just sit out on the balcony in that comfy chair, watching the ocean and the sunset and the lights coming on.

Which brings me to another thing you should know about me. I could look at neon lights for hours and not get bored. I just think they’re so beautiful in their own unique way. Combine my love of neon with my love of architecture and it makes total sense why I love South Beach. The area is known for its art deco. It’s so beautiful you can’t even believe it. Last time we went, I blogged about the art deco and posted nighttime pics here.

When we were at the airport coming home, SP needed a new book. So we went into Books & Books to find him one. Now, I’d only seen my books in an airport one time. Airport bookstores are so small that I couldn’t believe any of them would be stocking my books. But SP is my number-one fan and always hopeful about these things. He likes to check every airport bookstore, looking for my books. I wasn’t shocked when we went to the teen section in Books & Books and didn’t see any of mine. We looked for a book he’d like. He wasn’t feeling any of them. We went over to the magazine section. He wasn’t into any of those. So he went up the the registers at the front of the store, where some books were displayed. He yelled, “Susane!” Because WAITING FOR YOU PAPERBACKS WERE ON DISPLAY RIGHT UP FRONT!

Waiting for You by Susane Colasanti at Miami International Airport

I could not believe what I was seeing. It’s one thing to see my books in a regular bookstore, but in a tiny airport bookstore, totally front and center? Talk about a major surprise. Then it was a whirlwind of me trying to compose myself enough to answer people’s questions and the awesome dude working there (hi, Michael!) letting me sign them and there was pretty much a whole mini drama playing out right there in Terminal D of Miami International. Three people even bought copies right on the spot, they were so excited for me. Which made me really happy about how sweet people are and got me verklempt all over again. Special shout-out to Taylor – thanks for sharing the experience with me! Milestones and all.

17 thoughts on “south beach love

  1. Im glad you had a great time in South Beach!!!!!
    I have only been to one W (Time Square also) but my uncle is the head chef at the one in seattle!
    Its SOOOO amazing that you found your book there! Double amazing that people bought the books right infront of you! :) <3

  2. Im glad you had fun in South Beach!!!!
    I have only stayed at one W (Time Square also) but my uncle is the head chef at the W in Seattle.
    I am BEYOND happy for you that you found your book at the book store!!!!!! DOUBLE BEYOND happy that they were in the front of the store and TRIPLE BEYOND happy that people bought your book right infront of you!!!! <3 :)

  3. Awww, congrats! I’m so glad you got to see your book on front display. You deserve it :)
    I’ve never been to South Beach but it definitely looks cool. I’ll have to tell my dad about it in case he’s thinking about a vacation soon :)

  4. Wow! What a great vacation for so many reasons! I’m still in the stage where I go to neat places but stay in crappy hotels, so it’s fun to hear about a hotel you’d actually just want to hang out at. That looks like a fancy dress in your photo!
    It’s fantastic that your books are making airport bookstores! And being displayed in front! It definitely seems like the whole thing’s building as of late, what with the book tour and all. And how funny that the customers and employees got all excited *with* you! LOL. Glad you guys had such a wonderful time away. :)

  5. Last year when I was going to the Teen Author Carnival, I had a layover in Kentucky. And I bought one of your books in that airport! I later had it signed when I met you at TAC. : )
    So you’re books are at more than one airport. (and many bookstores!)
    Genevieve

comment

