the haps

Have you been waiting for Waiting for You to come out in paperback? If so, your waiting is almost over. Waiting for You will be released in paperback on April 6! Which I can’t believe is next week, but there you go. Added to entry: You can win a copy at TRT Book Club just by leaving a comment there today! I’ll also be checking in throughout the day to answer your questions.

In other book news, a new review of Something Like Fate is up at The Unprofessional Critic. Lauren even cast characters for the movie adaptation. She picked Zooey Deschanel to play my main character, Lani. That rules. I love Zooey! And casting book characters is always super fun.

Before I started this blog in 2007, I read lots of other authors’ blogs so I wouldn’t be entirely clueless. Now there are only a few other blogs that I read on a regular basis. At first I felt guilty that I wasn’t reading everyone’s blog all the time. But then I thought about how much time I spend online every day and…well, I don’t feel guilty anymore. One of the blogs I still read is Meg Cabot’s. She is always so fun and informative and inspirational and just freaking amazing. A few days ago, Meg wrote about writer’s block. She said how if she feels stuck because she can’t figure out where she took a wrong turn, she’ll think about the problem before going to sleep. In the morning, she usually wakes up with the answer right in front of her. This is an excellent example of how communicating with our subconscious can reveal all sorts of life-altering things. I’ve had dreams that revealed critical plot points of my books. This is why I keep a notebook and special stripy pencil on my nightstand – you never know when a brilliant idea will strike. I’ve heard other authors say that their book ideas came to them in dreams, too. There’s so much we don’t yet know about dreams, but one thing is clear. They have the power to enhance our lives.

If you’ve been reading this blog for a while, you probably know that I’m obsessed with The Office. Remember when Jim and Pam slept over at Schrute Farms and then rated it on TripAdvisor? It turns out that there’s an actual listing for Schrute Farms on TripAdvisor! They set it up as a hoot when the ep first aired and then decided to keep it. I’m having the best time reading people’s reviews. It’s awesome when fiction finds its way into real life.

Something less awesome? Trying to get into a healthy habit that’s just not sticking. A while ago, I mentioned how I wanted to start taking Omega-3. The problem is that I can’t get over the whole fish oil thing. I have these orange flavored Omega-3 packets that are supposed to be for kids. They don’t taste too bad, it’s just knowing that fish oil lurks within completely repulses me. In the meantime, I’ve been drinking Acai berry juice. It’s an acquired taste, but definitely worth getting used to. I won’t give up on the Omega-3, though. Disguising the taste with animal crackers might work. Yeah, I know I’m supposed to be a grownup. I just haven’t gotten the official memo yet.

14 thoughts on “the haps

  1. my dad takes like a thousand vitamins and the fish oil comes in a gel capsul….i know b/c i’ve been forced to take them. lol. he got them from Life Extension i think….but i’m sure you can get them from any vitamin store. and the good news: No Taste! they are kinda large though. lol.
    Schrute Farms!! Love :) “I always imagined there would be less manure on our first weekend together. Some manure, yes….but less.” :)

    • Originally I bought those gel capsules that supposedly had no taste (they used lemon to disguise it or something). As soon as I opened the container, the smell hit me so hard I dashed right back over to the vitamin store to exchange them. I’m, like, beyond sensitive :\

  2. My favorite part about the Schrute farm listing is that they had to put a disclaimer on the page that it’s a fictional location because someone actually wanted to go there :P

  3. Ew. That sounds really gross. I am also not good when it comes to smell so I can imagine what your going through!
    I have never taken fish oil pills but I have seen them…there HUGE! I couldnt imagine swallowing that whole!

  4. I really need to start watching The Office. Sometimes I watch random episodes but I think I just need to start from the beginning. You’re going to get me hooked.
    Oh! And I started reading Something Like Fate. I am already over halfway through it. I just can’t stop reading. It is brilliant and you are brilliant and did I mention I love you?

  5. I can’t wait to see Paperback versions of Waiting For You in stores! I know I already have that book but whenever I see books I love in new format at bookstores, I smile. Like Sarah Dessen’s Lock and Key. First time I saw it, I smiled and had to pick it up for at least a second. I’m ridiculous like that.
    Good luck with your Omega-3! One of my friends roommates has to take those for basketball and she made me smell them. I can totally understand why you have a hard time sticking to the plan. Those things are gross.
    Plus, kudos to you for all the other healthy things you do! I’m having a hard time just sticking to a workout routine and eating better. So I’d say you’re doing way better!

    • I’m the same way with new editions! I just got my author copies of the Waiting for You paperbacks and can’t get over how gorgeous they are. The day I see all three new paperbacks with their sweet new spines in book stores is going to be a really fun day :D
      You’ve already taken the first steps toward healthier living. That’s the hardest part! So you’re doing a great job. And it’s not like you have any weight to lose, which is one less thing. We’re in this together: you – workout/eating, me – Omega-3 and a bunch of other things but I’ll just focus on one thing at a time here. We can do this, yo.

comment

