he was there all along

This weekend was all about the summer breeze. I really wanted to borrow a kite to fly, but I didn’t get a chance to spend as much time outside as I wanted because I’m on deadline. Having all the windows open so the summer breeze flowed in and listening to the mourning doves and deciding which flip-flops to wear later was happy times, so it’s all good.

Melissa Walker, author and journalist and Readergirl and like a zillion other things because she’s multitalented like that, has posted a Cover Story of Waiting for You. Well, it was supposed to be about Waiting for You, but it also looked at Take Me There since that cover went through some changes. I love how Melissa gets the whole Dawson’s Creek aesthetic of the cover. I was trying to capture that feeling in the story, so I’m stoked that she picked up on that. Stay tuned for a special treat with Melissa coming up this Friday!

Today’s special treat for you is my first contest in a series of four. Joining me for the He Was There All Along Contest is author Elizabeth Scott! I know you love her. I totally scored her latest book, Something, Maybe, and got Elizabeth to sign it for you. You can win it by commenting here. You can also win a signed copy of Waiting for You by commenting over at Elizabeth’s blog because this is a joint contest!

Here’s how to enter: Tell me (or both of us) about a boy you wished you would find, then realized that you already knew him. He was there all along! This is a theme that Something, Maybe and Waiting for You share, and we’d love to hear your own stories. If this kind of thing never happened to you but it happened to a friend, you can tell us about it instead. Or you can tell us about the boy you’ve been waiting for, even if you haven’t found him yet.

The contest ends at midnight this Sunday, May 3. Sorry, it’s only open to US residents. I will pick a winner at random to win Elizabeth’s book. She will pick a winner at random to win my book. So definitely enter to win both books! And yes, you may leave the same comment at both blogs. Or maybe you are very lucky and two boys have been there all along…

30 thoughts on “he was there all along

  1. I love contests like this. The boy I’ve been waiting for…. was actually my best friend. I didn’t realize it until just recently

  2. I have to post the same one I did on Elizabeth’s blog because it’s only happened to me once!
    Well my story isn’t very happy. I thought he was weird and knew he liked me. I didn’t like him until after we barely saw each other anymore and I realized he was actually kind of cool! So it didn’t really work out. I’ve tried to pay more attention since then so I don’t miss something that may be there.

  3. nope, being in middle school and all, and all my guy friends being very much into girls, my love life is out of the question.
    and most of my guy friends like to stomp on my girl friends hearts.
    i already preordered Waiting For You and i’ve read Something, Maybe.

  4. Well, this happened to my friend, where she had liked this one guy for over a year. Somewhere in the middle, though, she discovered he already had a girlfriend that goes to a different school. What she didn’t know was that he was already thinking of dumping his girlfriend because he was having issues. After he did that he realized that the perfect girl for him was my friend. So now they’re together and happy. :)

  5. It did happen to me once. It was a guy that I worked with. He was a mechanic and would look at my car when I needed it, but neither one of us was interested in a relationship at the time, w/anyone. Well, we went to lunch a few times, but nothing more than friends. Then, it just evolved…we are now married!
    shelcows AT gmail DOT com

  6. he was there all along…in reverse
    I had to think for a bit to come up with this, and that’s because the ‘he’ who was there all along was not for me (even though we were seeing each other at the time), but for a mutual friend. I broke up with him that Christmas, and they’d realized their mutual ‘rightness’ by February, and are now happily married.
    Great contest, by the way!

  7. Contest
    I’ve been waiting for the perfect guy for a few years. It seems like every guy I know is either not right for me, I’m not attracted to, or are complete jerks. I could definitely use some love action.

  8. Contest
    I’ve been waiting for the perfect guy for a few years. It seems like every guy I know is either not right for me, I’m not attracted to, or are complete jerks. I could definitely use some love action.

  9. The boy I wished I would find was someone who wasn’t fake (actually hard to find if you’re in high school), was smart, and funny. Someone who doesn’t care about material things, and cares more about someone’s personality than their body. I found him. But alas, life isn’t that easy. We are really good friends. That’s it. He is also going to a new school next year. Life will go on, but I wish it would stand still for this next month.

  10. The boy I wished I would find was someone who wasn’t fake (actually hard to find if you’re in high school), was smart, and funny. Someone who doesn’t care about material things, and cares more about someone’s personality than their body. I found him. But alas, life isn’t that easy. We are really good friends. That’s it. He is also going to a new school next year. Life will go on, but I wish it would stand still for this next month.

  11. Already wrote this on Elizabeth’s blog, but here it is again!
    I lived across the hall from a boy for about a year. During that year, I dated a few boys, but didn’t really like any of them very much. I didn’t realize the feelings I had for the boy across the hall until he went on a date with my roommate. Neither of them enjoyed the date, and soon enough, we went out! We’re still together 2 years later :)
    -Meg (meg . mccall at gmail dot com)

  12. Already wrote this on Elizabeth’s blog, but here it is again!
    I lived across the hall from a boy for about a year. During that year, I dated a few boys, but didn’t really like any of them very much. I didn’t realize the feelings I had for the boy across the hall until he went on a date with my roommate. Neither of them enjoyed the date, and soon enough, we went out! We’re still together 2 years later :)
    -Meg (meg . mccall at gmail dot com)

  13. haha, this question makes me laugh because it is the story of my life. The guy I am dating was my best friend for three years and we worked together and I had no idea he had feelings for me for forever. when i finally realized it seemed so obvious, why had I been dating a bunch of idiots! two years later and going strong!

  14. haha, this question makes me laugh because it is the story of my life. The guy I am dating was my best friend for three years and we worked together and I had no idea he had feelings for me for forever. when i finally realized it seemed so obvious, why had I been dating a bunch of idiots! two years later and going strong!

  15. I can’t wait for you new book. One thing I love about you and Elizabeth Scott’s books is no matter how many time I read them, I still enjoy reading them.
    I have yet to find a guy, but I’ve always thought that you need to be friends with someone before you can be anything else.
    katlins@cox.net

    • contest
      First of all, I love these types of contests! (probably because I love reading other people’s stories just as much as I love commenting on them)
      Anyway, while I have haven’t found multiple guys, there’s one that I was fortunate enough to have in my life and then really notice.
      So, story time! Here’s the sort of condensed version with initials for names: When you start college, you are overloaded with introductions and friendly faces, but within a couple weeks a few faces become more familiar than the others. One of these people was E, the roommate of the boy who eventually became my boyfriend. At that time, I spent a ton of time in their room getting to know E, only barely noticing his roommate, D. I had been hoping to find a guy that wouldn’t be an ass for once (oh, high school boys), and figured that boys matured before entering college, so there should be tons of options, and E was looking like quite a candidate. Once I headed over only to find E gone, so I figured I should talk to D and found out that besides living down the hall from me, we both like reading and checking out XKCD on a regular basis. To be honest, this still didn’t put him on my radar, it just meant we start to talk and hang out a bit. Apparently all of our friends saw it coming after we both laughed at the violent parts of Hot Fuzz (don’t blame me! it really is so overdone that it’s funny instead of gross). Anyway, it took nearly two months of casual friendship before we realized we had any connection, and it all came out of a tube of toothpaste. You see, I’m one of those (admittedly) slightly anal people who insist upon squeezing toothpaste out from the bottom of the tube. It makes me cringe to see toothpaste tubes with big dents in the middle, so I can’t help but fix a tube if I notice it. This somehow turned into a wrestling match with D just an hour before I was heading back home for the weekend. Though I didn’t think much of it while we were more or less on top of each other, I realized that the entire car ride home I couldn’t stop thinking of him. After a few more weeks of doing that awkward now-we-can’t-touch-each-other-or-make-eye-contact-ever-because-it-would-be-letting-on-that-we’re-interested-in-each-other thing, a mutual friend locked us a room together in the early evening. Literally. We talked until sunrise about nearly everything but ourselves until after sunrise, and then he finally just kissed me. I’m glad the right guy was there all along, as he’s now my boyfriend and my best friend.
      Kristin at dazdnconfusd@comcast.net

    • contest
      First of all, I love these types of contests! (probably because I love reading other people’s stories just as much as I love commenting on them)
      Anyway, while I have haven’t found multiple guys, there’s one that I was fortunate enough to have in my life and then really notice.
      So, story time! Here’s the sort of condensed version with initials for names: When you start college, you are overloaded with introductions and friendly faces, but within a couple weeks a few faces become more familiar than the others. One of these people was E, the roommate of the boy who eventually became my boyfriend. At that time, I spent a ton of time in their room getting to know E, only barely noticing his roommate, D. I had been hoping to find a guy that wouldn’t be an ass for once (oh, high school boys), and figured that boys matured before entering college, so there should be tons of options, and E was looking like quite a candidate. Once I headed over only to find E gone, so I figured I should talk to D and found out that besides living down the hall from me, we both like reading and checking out XKCD on a regular basis. To be honest, this still didn’t put him on my radar, it just meant we start to talk and hang out a bit. Apparently all of our friends saw it coming after we both laughed at the violent parts of Hot Fuzz (don’t blame me! it really is so overdone that it’s funny instead of gross). Anyway, it took nearly two months of casual friendship before we realized we had any connection, and it all came out of a tube of toothpaste. You see, I’m one of those (admittedly) slightly anal people who insist upon squeezing toothpaste out from the bottom of the tube. It makes me cringe to see toothpaste tubes with big dents in the middle, so I can’t help but fix a tube if I notice it. This somehow turned into a wrestling match with D just an hour before I was heading back home for the weekend. Though I didn’t think much of it while we were more or less on top of each other, I realized that the entire car ride home I couldn’t stop thinking of him. After a few more weeks of doing that awkward now-we-can’t-touch-each-other-or-make-eye-contact-ever-because-it-would-be-letting-on-that-we’re-interested-in-each-other thing, a mutual friend locked us a room together in the early evening. Literally. We talked until sunrise about nearly everything but ourselves until after sunrise, and then he finally just kissed me. I’m glad the right guy was there all along, as he’s now my boyfriend and my best friend.
      Kristin at dazdnconfusd@comcast.net

  16. I can’t wait for you new book. One thing I love about you and Elizabeth Scott’s books is no matter how many time I read them, I still enjoy reading them.
    I have yet to find a guy, but I’ve always thought that you need to be friends with someone before you can be anything else.
    katlins@cox.net

  17. The one who got away
    This sounds pretty sad but I think my “one who got away” is a friend I know from since nursery to grade school, but now he’s already in Canada and we have lost touch ever since. I never realized it until he went away.
    sylvia (sylvia_uy4@yahoo.com)

  18. The one who got away
    This sounds pretty sad but I think my “one who got away” is a friend I know from since nursery to grade school, but now he’s already in Canada and we have lost touch ever since. I never realized it until he went away.
    sylvia (sylvia_uy4@yahoo.com)

  19. Here Is My Love Personal Love
    Ok so here it goes. I am the kind of girl who more comfortable hanging with the guys. I just can’t stand all of the drama with girls. For example one of my friends, Alyssa, was broken up with over aim and she was all upset about it, and I’m like the guy didn’t even have the courage to break up with you face to face or at least over the phone then do you really think he is worth being all upset over. Because of thinks like this most of the time I end up hanging with my guy friends and one in particular I spent a lot of time with, Connor. We talked about everything and I never thought anything of it. I would tell him about guys I thought where hot and dates I went on and ask him for his opinion, most of the time he would laugh and tell me how should he know. But then one time we were at the fair together and I ran into this guy I knew from my pool while Connor was getting tickets for rides. I could kind of tell this guy liked me but I really was not sure if I was that into him. When he saw Connor heading back this way he told me to call me when me and boyfriend broke up. Before I could correct his assumption, before I could even understand what he was saying, he walked away. But when it sank in it got me thinking. For the next week I could not stop thinking about it and every time I was around Connor I noticed the way he would look at me, it was an admiring and hopeful look, I had never noticed it before. Like I said in the beginning I like hanging out with guys more than girls so I tend not to notice this kind of thing. That Saturday we were at my house and parents and older brother had gone out. This was noting out of the ordinary. We watched Van Helsing one of my favorite movies. After it was done I built up the nerve to ask him about what the guy said last week and if he liked me in that way. I was a little nervous but I was telling myself that it is always better to know and that way if I was just imagining things over the past week then I could just get over it. When I got the question out he just kind of looked at me as if in shock or something. And then he took my face in his hands and looked me in the eye a bit hesitant and then he kissed me, and it was very very sweet. We end up making out until my brother came home. I met Connor in the begging of last school year and this night happened October 11, 2008. We have been dating for just about half a year now, and we are still not tired of each other. lol :)
    email-tia3993@yahoo.com

  20. Here Is My Love Personal Love
    Ok so here it goes. I am the kind of girl who more comfortable hanging with the guys. I just can’t stand all of the drama with girls. For example one of my friends, Alyssa, was broken up with over aim and she was all upset about it, and I’m like the guy didn’t even have the courage to break up with you face to face or at least over the phone then do you really think he is worth being all upset over. Because of thinks like this most of the time I end up hanging with my guy friends and one in particular I spent a lot of time with, Connor. We talked about everything and I never thought anything of it. I would tell him about guys I thought where hot and dates I went on and ask him for his opinion, most of the time he would laugh and tell me how should he know. But then one time we were at the fair together and I ran into this guy I knew from my pool while Connor was getting tickets for rides. I could kind of tell this guy liked me but I really was not sure if I was that into him. When he saw Connor heading back this way he told me to call me when me and boyfriend broke up. Before I could correct his assumption, before I could even understand what he was saying, he walked away. But when it sank in it got me thinking. For the next week I could not stop thinking about it and every time I was around Connor I noticed the way he would look at me, it was an admiring and hopeful look, I had never noticed it before. Like I said in the beginning I like hanging out with guys more than girls so I tend not to notice this kind of thing. That Saturday we were at my house and parents and older brother had gone out. This was noting out of the ordinary. We watched Van Helsing one of my favorite movies. After it was done I built up the nerve to ask him about what the guy said last week and if he liked me in that way. I was a little nervous but I was telling myself that it is always better to know and that way if I was just imagining things over the past week then I could just get over it. When I got the question out he just kind of looked at me as if in shock or something. And then he took my face in his hands and looked me in the eye a bit hesitant and then he kissed me, and it was very very sweet. We end up making out until my brother came home. I met Connor in the begging of last school year and this night happened October 11, 2008. We have been dating for just about half a year now, and we are still not tired of each other. lol :)
    email-tia3993@yahoo.com

  21. This happened to my best friend. She was friends with this guy, and has known him since they were about 5 (gifted let’s you know a lot of people more than half of your life even when you don’t want to). They were great friends and liked games and cursed a lot, especially in Spanish. Then one day, at school, I see them holding hands. She told me, that it just hit her that she really, REALLY liked him and loved his eyes a lot. She kept on wondering why she just realize that she liked him, and it just so happens that he asked her out on the day it hit her. It’s actually very cute since he made her very confident and stop believing that she’s ugly.

  22. This happened to my best friend. She was friends with this guy, and has known him since they were about 5 (gifted let’s you know a lot of people more than half of your life even when you don’t want to). They were great friends and liked games and cursed a lot, especially in Spanish. Then one day, at school, I see them holding hands. She told me, that it just hit her that she really, REALLY liked him and loved his eyes a lot. She kept on wondering why she just realize that she liked him, and it just so happens that he asked her out on the day it hit her. It’s actually very cute since he made her very confident and stop believing that she’s ugly.

  23. This is actually my brother’s story…
    He’s had this best friend for almost all his life, and his best friend had a little sister. She had the BIGGEST crush on my brother for years, but since she was the little sister, my brother never thought of her that way.
    Then he went overseas with the military, she graduated from high school and started college, and when he came back – things changed! Now they’ve been married for almost three years and they just had their first child (my adorable nephew)!
    joannarenee (at) mail (dot) com

    • I posted this late on purpose – I already have Something, Maybe. I just think it is a sweet story and wanted to share with those who haven’t read it on Elizabeth’s blog. :)

    • I posted this late on purpose – I already have Something, Maybe. I just think it is a sweet story and wanted to share with those who haven’t read it on Elizabeth’s blog. :)

  24. This is actually my brother’s story…
    He’s had this best friend for almost all his life, and his best friend had a little sister. She had the BIGGEST crush on my brother for years, but since she was the little sister, my brother never thought of her that way.
    Then he went overseas with the military, she graduated from high school and started college, and when he came back – things changed! Now they’ve been married for almost three years and they just had their first child (my adorable nephew)!
    joannarenee (at) mail (dot) com

comment

