the cure is the cure

The Cure at Madison Square Garden

There is no person on this planet more intense than The Cure’s lead singer, Robert Smith.  Or any other planet.

The Cure at Madison Square Garden

The Cure at Madison Square Garden

When It Happens would not have been possible to write without The Cure continuously playing.  Almost every scene in that book is set to a Cure song in my mind.  I’ve got this thing for nostalgia, but not the normal kind of nostalgia where you’re remembering stuff you’ve been through all fondly and missing it.  I have the kind of nostalgia for times I never experienced.  But being at The Cure concert last Friday was like senior year all over again, with the sucky parts removed.

The Cure at Madison Square Garden

The Cure at Madison Square Garden

Some people think I’m crazy for spending way too much money for a second-row floor seat at a John Mayer concert.  But dude.  Being close enough for Michael Stipe’s sweat to fling in my eye at an R.E.M. concert is a priceless experience.  So was having fourth-row center floor seats to The Cure at Madison Square Garden.  And these were a gift from SP, so even better.  He’s the best boyfriend ever!

The Cure at Madison Square Garden

The Cure at Madison Square Garden

You know that stranded on a desert island game where you have to give three CDs you’d take with you to listen to for the rest of your life?  I’d only take one.  Disintegration.  And I’d never ever get tired of it.  John Mayer’s Heavier Things is like that too, but The Cure was with me back when I was surviving high school.  It got me through things.

The Cure at Madison Square Garden

The Cure at Madison Square Garden

Before the concert, Laila and I made our Top Five Cure Songs lists and had a pre-concert rock out session.  They played four of my songs!  “Hot Hot Hot!!!,” “Close To Me,” “Pictures of You,” and my all-time fave Cure song, “Fascination Street.”  When they started “Fascination Street,” I thought I might have a heart attack.  I almost couldn’t take it, it was so intense.

The Cure at Madison Square Garden

The Cure at Madison Square Garden

Robert’s guitar has googly eyes.  I always knew he was a kindred spirit.  It has googly eyes and stars and a Parental Advisory sticker.  And he totally made eye contact with me.  But that’s not something you look at through a camera lens.

The Cure at Madison Square Garden

The Cure at Madison Square Garden

Nights like these are ones I will never forget.  So when I have nostalgia for this time in my life twenty years from now, I’ll have real things to remember.

The Cure at Madison Square Garden

8 thoughts on “the cure is the cure

  1. Awesome! Great photos, and now I am reminiscing about when I saw The Cure at Nassau Coliseum back in oh, 1989 or so. I can’t remember if I was still in HS or it was a college summer. I remember the last song, maybe it was Fascination Street, and it went on for like 20 minutes! It was such a great concert, and yes the music – one of my HS faves. My favorite Cure song is “Apart”. I guess I like the depressing ones.
    I also remember sitting in the 10th row at a Depeche Mode concert, standing on the seat, going crazy.
    Here is my write-up of when I went to see Morrissey two years ago here in Gothenburg. Most excellent.

    http://georgiamars.livejournal.com/79144.html

    The Smiths, Depeche Mode, and The Cure – the soundtrack of my youth!
    Thanks for your post : )

      • I just saw on your info page that you went to Penn. I can’t remember if I knew that already…I did too! I graduated 1993 and then GSE 1994. Lived in Philly up until 1997. I was an English major and started out teaching after grad school but then took a different path. I have always been writing and am really drawn to YA books so that is how I found your blog, through Laurie Halse Anderson’s I think. Now I am thinking I posted all this already….

  2. I’m really glad you had such an amazing time! I love your perspective on concerts and completely agree. Better to sit close and have an experience to remember than to buy a lot of material stuff that doesn’t have memories attached. Fantastic photos too… WOW! Normally bigger concerts don’t allow pictures!
    I finished Take Me There too, btw, and loved it, loved it, LOVED it! Haven’t had time to write about it yet though… I have a condensed summer class that’s taking up all my time, and I’m gone almost every weekend! But the novel completely captured the energy of the city and there were soooo many movie moments in it! Now I have to look through the Take Me There photos again because they’ll mean more. :)

    • Yay! I love that you saw movie moments in Take Me There because I am hoping it becomes a movie :)
      Oh, and you can totally take a camera (as long as it’s non-professional) to almost any concert now.

  3. ‘I have the kind of nostalgia for times I never experienced’
    Well i just don’t have a ‘subject header’ to summarize my experience with you that night.
    So, I use the sentence you wrote which is one of the most beautiful sentences I have ever read in my life. Of course I understand and experience that kind of nostalgia but could never think to put it into words the way you just did so eloquently.
    Our night together will be/is one of the greatest in my life. Of course I’m playing ‘Disintegration’ continuously since.
    ‘I have the kind of nostalgia for times I never experienced’
    And I totally share your sentiment. I have that kind of intense nostalgia for experiences I never had often. I think I actually had feelings only a handful of times in real life that matched the intensity and elation of this nostalgia which you describe and which The Cure evokes.
    Yes, Robert Smith is a kindred spirit. Googly eyes, planets….linked to our hearts and dreams. And the most intense being in this universe.
    Thank you thank you thank you Pierre for the night of our lives that we will remember until I am 91 and Susane is 93.
    love,
    laila

    • Re: ‘I have the kind of nostalgia for times I never experienced’
      Exactly! It’s like, all of the intensity and passion of a Cure song is something I always want to feel in real life, but rarely do. So I try to create those experiences in my books.
      We had the time of our lives. We will never forget.

comment

